Creamy Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This was good hot chocolate. Chocolatey and not over sweet. It does get kind of sludgy and needs to be remixed before each serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
this was very good and very rich. my 4 yr. old and 9 yr. old loved it! thanks for the great recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This hot chocolate was very good. It was creamy and chocolaty and not too sweet. The only thing is there was quite a bit of sediment at the bottom of the pan and in my mug despite a good deal of stirring, but it was tasty to sip up at the end (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stella_illuminata

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by GOMELA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Excellent!! This was so rich and creamy. We all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOMELA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Very good. I used half milk and half water. If you don't use enough, it will be much too rich! I started with 4 cups (2 cups milk and 2 cups water) and added more until it mellowed enough for our tastes. A perfect thing for a cold evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
4 stars instead of 5 because I made adjustments to the amounts for my preferences. I really like this recipe with the following adjustments: I shorted the water--I used only 4 cups of water. I also added extra cocoa powder (probably a heaping tablespoon) to get a darker chocolate taste. I doubled the salt and added one shake of cayenne pepper. I must say I didn't try the recipe 'by the book' the first time--I tasted after each addition of 2 cups of water and stopped where I thought it tasted good. Using milk instead of water (all or part) would be a good sub, and I might use even a little more salt. If my husband doesn't like it this dark I might back off on that extra tablespoon for him, but I like it. :) The recipe was quite easy and pretty quick, so I might not bother making Alton Brown's mix anymore. :) Condensed milk tastes better than dry milk by a long shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
My son requested hot chocolate and I wanted an easy recipe. This recipe seems a step above a packet of hot choc. mix. Which I like just fine. I did half water/milk because of other reviewers suggestions. I think it made it better. I would try this recipe if you want a simple and quick cup of HC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASERGEANTSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I had half a can of sweetened condensed milk left over from earlier this week, so I halved this recipe and used it here. I thought it could just just a little more chocolate flavor, it's just a might too sweet. I followed other reviewers lead and used milk instead of water. It's creamy, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I love this recipe and make it again and again. It's great to keep made in the fridge, heat as you want it. I add cinnamon and nutmeg to it sometimes. Other times I add allspice or pumpkin pie spice. It's good in so many ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrisbrandt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warrensburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Very good, kids love it. I did substitute half the water with milk, but it's a great recipe thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Covington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marysville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States