Creamy Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This is yummy. We grew up with Nestle's and milk heated up, and I just can't deal with the stuff in a packet! Never thought to use sweetened condensed milk, and I did use a combo of half & half and milk instead of the water. Very tasty on a cold night with some whipped cream squirted on top! I did also add 1/2 of a 4 oz bar of Hershey's chocolate, in addition to the cocoa powder. For those of you who had a sediment problem, try using either an immersion blender or run it through your blender after it has blended, but before it gets hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gocoastl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Way to much chocolate!! Even with marshmallows I couldn't even drink 1/2 cup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Good-very creamy-makes quite a bit. Would make again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
I made this last night for us to enjoy while decorating the tree. It was so EASY and very tasty. I followed the recipe exactly and thought it was great. My daughter (the hot chocolate expert) loved it! I plan to make a triple bath tonight for family movie night at church. I love the simplicity of the recipe and the fact that it can be easily done in a crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Really good! I made this for my kids after our local Christmas parade. I think some people are mistaking evaporated milk for sweetened condensed, which is what the recipe called for. I also used more liquid than called for, about 8 cups total, half milk and half water. I was also about 1/4 short on cocoa powder and so I used some milk chocolate chips. Didn't have the gritty-ness others mentioned but I also used a whisk. Served it with whipped cream-heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VLB1218

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
So good... I was amazed how sweet it was with no added sugar. Very creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Super-easy hot cocoa but it isn't hot chocolate, which has chocolate in it. I didn't use the entire 6.5 cups water but put 2 cups water and 2 cups whole milk. That was enough. Next time I'm going to melt chocolate into the condensed milk instead of using cocoa. This recipe is tasty and fast. I would make for sleepovers and brunches because it makes a lot and is simple and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I've made this for my daughters annual fall party for the last three years. Its always a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaeleM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elberfeld, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lyons, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
As hot chocolate, it gets 0 stars; no one in my family like it. As an egg cream, it gets 5 stars, my mom says it makes the best egg creams she has ever had. When it's cold she fills a quarter of the cup with the chocolate milk (when I first make it, I replace half the water with milk) and the rest of the cup with sheltzer. As a result, this recipe gains 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
This is a MUST for holidays at my house! Everyone who attends our Thanksgiving and Christmas get togethers expects there to be a pot of homemade creamy hot chocolate on the stove already made and ready to pour into mugs. Thank you for giving us such a wonderful recipe to add as a tradition to our home :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States