Creamy Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I've tried this recipe several times both with the microwave and over the stove. It makes a perfect sweet treat for cold weather. My best results came from cooking it over the stove using a molinillo de madera to work the chocolate and condensed milk in. I have also tried tossing a serving's worth into a mug and microwaving it for a minute. While it also tasted good that way, it was not as smooth as when I cooked it on the stove and really worked the ingredients together. Either way, I definitely enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly and it was great. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Just had snow in Georgia! While the kids were out playing, I realized I was out of hot cocoa. Allrecipes saved me again. I added about a cup or so of powdered milk to the water in place of whole milk, like was suggested. I also added one chocolate bar as the sweetened condensed milk flavor was a bit overpowering. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by romans8_38-39
Living In: Forsyth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
So simple to make, and very good! A bit rich, so next time we make it, we'll try some of the modifications suggested. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Lessened the cocoa as recommended, used 2% milk instead of hot water. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Rich and delicious! Used 4 cups milk and 1 cup water instead of just water. Could even add another cup or water. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I really loved t good treat for the kids
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I made it with Hershey's Dark Chocolate Cocoa powder, and it made it much richer. I also added a few shakes of sugar to adjust the taste of the dark cocoa. Turned out really well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizziekins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
This is the ONLY hot chocolate my family will drink! No powdered hot chocolate in my house. I serve it with marshmallow cream or real whipped cream sweetened to taste. This is very rich and is a much demanded treat when company comes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Used whole milk rather than water. Also, chopped up some 60% cacao chocolate (not much) to melt in along with the cocoa. Topped it off with homemade whipped cream and some more 60% shavings. Turned out yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States