Creamy Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
My family love this. It is so quick and simple. I never use water though. I feel this would take away from the creamy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dad

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Batavia, New York, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
This was very good and easy to make. Didn't notice any "chunky" quality to it at all. It was very creamy and smooth. I did follow the advice of other posters and then took it a step further by combining half and half with the milk, since I only had low fat milk- stopped at about five cups total, instead of 6.5 to increase the chocolate factor. Yes, it was rich, but I like it that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Made this with whole, organic milk and a little splash of peppermint schnapps. To die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Great recipe!!! Perfect for cold snowy days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sylmar, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
So yummy! It took a little more work than the traditional hot chocolate envelopes we're used to but it is well worth the extra effort! We made it with 1/2 milk and 1/2 water and it was very rich and creamy. It reheated nicely the next day, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
Excellent hot chocolate here folks, but it needs a little tweaking for perfection! I made two half batches and substituted 6 cups whole milk for the 6.5 cups water. Previous reviews made it clear that you need the extra richness. My expirement was to make one batch with 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa and one with half a 4 oz bar of Ghirardelli 60% cocoa bittersweet dark chocolate bar. No doubt about it - melt that chocolate bar!! I like it a bit spicy so I added some cinnamon and chilli powder as well, but it's fabulous without too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
Absolutely YUMMY!!! I made this the other night, and my entire family loved it! I used the Hershey's Special Dark cocoa powder, and the hot chocolate came out so dark and creamy. I did listen to other reviewers and used half milk and half water. The kids enjoyed their cocoa with mini-marshmallows on top, and my husband and I enjoyed ours with a splash of vanilla vodka in ours! An easy recipe that makes delicious hot cocoa! I'll never go back to mixes again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Others said this was good, but they would keep looking. Well, I'm not! This was the best I've ever had! I did use 2% milk for the water. I also used mexican vanilla. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I made this today since we are in the middle of an ice storm/blizzard and the kids just came in from sledding. Just perfect!! Creamy, chocolaty and just the right amount of sweetness! This will be a permanent addition to my recipe collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
This turned out a nice batch of hot chocolate. I had some problems with little lumps of condensed milk and cocoa not melting in with the rest, despite constant stirring. I used the hand mixer for a couple minutes on low and that took care of it. My boyfriend dubbed it good, but not worth the trouble to make when some instant varieties taste better - I'd make again, but will continue on the quest for perfect scratch hot chocolate. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States