Creamy Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
My family was iced and snowed in for a WEEK! Having nothing else to do, they (obviously) played and sledded out on our hill all day. Of course, when they came in they wanted some hot chocolate to warm them up. I don't do hot cocoa mix - I believe in everything being cooked from scratch. After a week, however, we had run out of sugar and milk. I couldn't get to the grocery store for these ingredients, because as I said we were iced AND snowed in, so I went to my trusty pal allrecipes.com to help me out. OBVIOUSLY what I needed (and had!) was sweetened condensed milk! Why hadn't I thought of that? ;) This recipe was just what my kids needed to warm right up and then to immediately get back out in the snow. Thanks, allrecipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
It needs milk instead of water. I made it both ways and milk is the way to go. Very tasty, and very comforting on a cold snowy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly
Home Town: Wallaceburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wiitak
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Used dark cocoa powder. Best tasting hot chocolate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
So rich, so good, but agree with others on using whole milk, skim just lack something I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason Ladwig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I'm only rating 3 stars because I made some changes based on other reviews. I added a 12 oz can of evaporated milk and 2 cups regular milk then 3 cups of water. It still didn't taste like anything special so I added some dark chocolate chips. Ultimately it was creamy and chocolates, all the things hot chocolate should be :) Also, if you slowly stir in the cocoa little bits at a time to the condensed milk, you avoid the "grittiness" or sediment that other reviewers complained of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
My mother modifies the recipe to her own making and makes it super creamy by adding a piece of gouda cheese. Its amazing!! Great recipe thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Excellent! My kids and I loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
OMG this is by far the best hot coco I've ever made!(believe me, I've used a LOT of recipes) I've only made it about 2 times but then again, #11andcounting, so I'm usually not allowed to use the stove without adult supervision.(bummer??) But seriously creamiest, best, frothiest, hot coco ever. Definitely must try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
My aunt who lives with me drinks hot chocolate every morning like most people drink coffee and I just buy Swiss Miss from the store. We happened to be out this morning. So I decided I would make some although I have never made hot chocolate any way other than the powder and water before. This hot chocolate is amazing! Everyone loved it and it was so easy to make. My son and I made it in less then 10 minutes. I did however use whole milk in place of the water. My son added some marshmallow fluff and cinnamon to his and his sister's. It was pretty good that way as well. I definitely will not be drinking store bought anymore. Thank you for the amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States