Creamy Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
My aunt who lives with me drinks hot chocolate every morning like most people drink coffee and I just buy Swiss Miss from the store. We happened to be out this morning. So I decided I would make some although I have never made hot chocolate any way other than the powder and water before. This hot chocolate is amazing! Everyone loved it and it was so easy to make. My son and I made it in less then 10 minutes. I did however use whole milk in place of the water. My son added some marshmallow fluff and cinnamon to his and his sister's. It was pretty good that way as well. I definitely will not be drinking store bought anymore. Thank you for the amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I've tried this recipe several times both with the microwave and over the stove. It makes a perfect sweet treat for cold weather. My best results came from cooking it over the stove using a molinillo de madera to work the chocolate and condensed milk in. I have also tried tossing a serving's worth into a mug and microwaving it for a minute. While it also tasted good that way, it was not as smooth as when I cooked it on the stove and really worked the ingredients together. Either way, I definitely enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly and it was great. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Just had snow in Georgia! While the kids were out playing, I realized I was out of hot cocoa. Allrecipes saved me again. I added about a cup or so of powdered milk to the water in place of whole milk, like was suggested. I also added one chocolate bar as the sweetened condensed milk flavor was a bit overpowering. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by romans8_38-39
Living In: Forsyth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
So simple to make, and very good! A bit rich, so next time we make it, we'll try some of the modifications suggested. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Lessened the cocoa as recommended, used 2% milk instead of hot water. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Rich and delicious! Used 4 cups milk and 1 cup water instead of just water. Could even add another cup or water. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I really loved t good treat for the kids
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I made it with Hershey's Dark Chocolate Cocoa powder, and it made it much richer. I also added a few shakes of sugar to adjust the taste of the dark cocoa. Turned out really well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizziekins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
This is the ONLY hot chocolate my family will drink! No powdered hot chocolate in my house. I serve it with marshmallow cream or real whipped cream sweetened to taste. This is very rich and is a much demanded treat when company comes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States