Creamy Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
My kids love this! I use milk, instead of water, and use the reduced fat or fat free Eagle Brand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belmond, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
My husband and I LOVED it. I made it exactly the way it is written. We added some whipped cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This is by far the best hot chocolate I have ever tasted! I would give it more stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This was good hot chocolate. Chocolatey and not over sweet. It does get kind of sludgy and needs to be remixed before each serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
this was very good and very rich. my 4 yr. old and 9 yr. old loved it! thanks for the great recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This hot chocolate was very good. It was creamy and chocolaty and not too sweet. The only thing is there was quite a bit of sediment at the bottom of the pan and in my mug despite a good deal of stirring, but it was tasty to sip up at the end (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stella_illuminata

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by GOMELA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Excellent!! This was so rich and creamy. We all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOMELA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Very good. I used half milk and half water. If you don't use enough, it will be much too rich! I started with 4 cups (2 cups milk and 2 cups water) and added more until it mellowed enough for our tastes. A perfect thing for a cold evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
4 stars instead of 5 because I made adjustments to the amounts for my preferences. I really like this recipe with the following adjustments: I shorted the water--I used only 4 cups of water. I also added extra cocoa powder (probably a heaping tablespoon) to get a darker chocolate taste. I doubled the salt and added one shake of cayenne pepper. I must say I didn't try the recipe 'by the book' the first time--I tasted after each addition of 2 cups of water and stopped where I thought it tasted good. Using milk instead of water (all or part) would be a good sub, and I might use even a little more salt. If my husband doesn't like it this dark I might back off on that extra tablespoon for him, but I like it. :) The recipe was quite easy and pretty quick, so I might not bother making Alton Brown's mix anymore. :) Condensed milk tastes better than dry milk by a long shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
My son requested hot chocolate and I wanted an easy recipe. This recipe seems a step above a packet of hot choc. mix. Which I like just fine. I did half water/milk because of other reviewers suggestions. I think it made it better. I would try this recipe if you want a simple and quick cup of HC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASERGEANTSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States