Creamy Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I made this today since we are in the middle of an ice storm/blizzard and the kids just came in from sledding. Just perfect!! Creamy, chocolaty and just the right amount of sweetness! This will be a permanent addition to my recipe collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
This turned out a nice batch of hot chocolate. I had some problems with little lumps of condensed milk and cocoa not melting in with the rest, despite constant stirring. I used the hand mixer for a couple minutes on low and that took care of it. My boyfriend dubbed it good, but not worth the trouble to make when some instant varieties taste better - I'd make again, but will continue on the quest for perfect scratch hot chocolate. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
Easy to make and keep in the fridge during the holidays. I put extra cocoa and a little cinnamon in mine and serve with icecream or whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
Pretty good. Used fat free sweetened condensed milk. The kids liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
Kids loved it. Made a lot so I served it to all the kids that gathered in my yard this snowy day. I did use skim milk instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
it was good, but I personaly don't like the after taste of the condensed milk... I will keep looking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
This is a great, quick and easy recipe...I agree with the earlier review...use milk if you want a richer taste. When I made it with water, my husband and I agreed that it was a tad bitter and needed a little sugar. Not much...but just a couple of tablespoons. Great for making this ahead for large gatherings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
Made double batch for a Christmas party. The adults enjoyed it as much as the kids (served with a bottle of Peppermint schnapps on the side for people to add if they wanted.) Also, used milk instead of water to make it richer. One guest said it was like a dessert in a cup. Use water if you want it less filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perkasie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
I've been experimenting with cocoa recipes for a couple of weeks now, and this is the best one I've found so far. The sweetness is just right, and the "thick and creamy" quotient is perfect. I would have liked a more intense chocolate flavor (but then again, I'm a chocolate snob); next time I will try a premium brand of cocoa powder and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
Great for a crowd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoisington, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topsham, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States