Creamy Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Really good. I used 2% milk instead of the water, and Ghiradelli chococlate bars instead of the cocoa - one 60% cocoa and one 100% (unsweetened). (I doubled the recipe.) I did end up adding more cocoa powder, though, because it didn't seem chocolatey enough in color. I did it all in a crock pot for my caroling party and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
My family love this. It is so quick and simple. I never use water though. I feel this would take away from the creamy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dad

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Batavia, New York, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
This was very good and easy to make. Didn't notice any "chunky" quality to it at all. It was very creamy and smooth. I did follow the advice of other posters and then took it a step further by combining half and half with the milk, since I only had low fat milk- stopped at about five cups total, instead of 6.5 to increase the chocolate factor. Yes, it was rich, but I like it that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Made this with whole, organic milk and a little splash of peppermint schnapps. To die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Great recipe!!! Perfect for cold snowy days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sylmar, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
So yummy! It took a little more work than the traditional hot chocolate envelopes we're used to but it is well worth the extra effort! We made it with 1/2 milk and 1/2 water and it was very rich and creamy. It reheated nicely the next day, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
Excellent hot chocolate here folks, but it needs a little tweaking for perfection! I made two half batches and substituted 6 cups whole milk for the 6.5 cups water. Previous reviews made it clear that you need the extra richness. My expirement was to make one batch with 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa and one with half a 4 oz bar of Ghirardelli 60% cocoa bittersweet dark chocolate bar. No doubt about it - melt that chocolate bar!! I like it a bit spicy so I added some cinnamon and chilli powder as well, but it's fabulous without too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
Absolutely YUMMY!!! I made this the other night, and my entire family loved it! I used the Hershey's Special Dark cocoa powder, and the hot chocolate came out so dark and creamy. I did listen to other reviewers and used half milk and half water. The kids enjoyed their cocoa with mini-marshmallows on top, and my husband and I enjoyed ours with a splash of vanilla vodka in ours! An easy recipe that makes delicious hot cocoa! I'll never go back to mixes again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Others said this was good, but they would keep looking. Well, I'm not! This was the best I've ever had! I did use 2% milk for the water. I also used mexican vanilla. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I made this today since we are in the middle of an ice storm/blizzard and the kids just came in from sledding. Just perfect!! Creamy, chocolaty and just the right amount of sweetness! This will be a permanent addition to my recipe collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States