Creamy Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
VERY, VERY good and very soothing! I did, however, add a bit more milk (sub. for water) than called for. I found the overall recipe a little too sweet for my taste with the regular 6 1/2 cups of milk - so I added close to 8. I found that was the right balance - BUT, that is/was just personal opinion. I served some to my hubby after he got back from ice fishing and he RAVED about it. Great recipe, will make again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
My husband and sons loved this recipe. We will never buy powdered hot chocolate again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bisbee, Arizona, USA
Living In: Lake Wales, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Very good. I used whole milk as well instead of water. Pretty sweet, so maybe next time I will used part whole milk and part 2%. Kids LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Excellent hot chocolate.. I made it with whole milk, no water. Pretty sweet so I didn't add any marshmellows but it was exactly what I was looking for on this Christmas evening! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Very good. I put it all together the night before then put it in a crockpot for my daughter's class. Simmered all day and was ready and creamy for the party. I used water, next time will probably use milk. Thanks. UPDATE: Used 1/2 skim milk and 1/2 water - just delicious. Recommend the substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I made this as written but used whole milk instead of water. It was really good, I loved it! Hubby thought it was too 'dark chocolate' tasting (he really hates dark chocolate), but I thought it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Great recipe, great taste. Much more substantial than expected with all the water so cut the last 1/2 cup with great result. Can hardly imagine how thick this is with milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLEUDECIEL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
This is so wonderful and creamy! It really warms the soul!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodstock, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dunwoody, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Our family enjoyed this, particularly my 3 year-old son. I set up a 'make your own hot chocolate bar' with toppings like whipped cream, marshmallows and peppermint sprinkles; he loved it! I used skim milk in place of the water and also added 1/2 of a Ghirardelli semi-sweet baking bar for a litte more richness. Wonderful - I will keep and use this recipe forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Dolly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
You can't go wrong with sweetened condensed milk, in my opinion! Very creamy, very rich & chocolatey. I definitely went with the milk rather than the water. I like that this is a large batch. It's plenty for my family of 6, and even leaves some to enjoy later. A very easy recipe, it's definitely worth a try - highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States