Creamy Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
this was very good and very rich. my 4 yr. old and 9 yr. old loved it! thanks for the great recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This hot chocolate was very good. It was creamy and chocolaty and not too sweet. The only thing is there was quite a bit of sediment at the bottom of the pan and in my mug despite a good deal of stirring, but it was tasty to sip up at the end (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stella_illuminata

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by GOMELA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Excellent!! This was so rich and creamy. We all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOMELA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Very good. I used half milk and half water. If you don't use enough, it will be much too rich! I started with 4 cups (2 cups milk and 2 cups water) and added more until it mellowed enough for our tastes. A perfect thing for a cold evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
4 stars instead of 5 because I made adjustments to the amounts for my preferences. I really like this recipe with the following adjustments: I shorted the water--I used only 4 cups of water. I also added extra cocoa powder (probably a heaping tablespoon) to get a darker chocolate taste. I doubled the salt and added one shake of cayenne pepper. I must say I didn't try the recipe 'by the book' the first time--I tasted after each addition of 2 cups of water and stopped where I thought it tasted good. Using milk instead of water (all or part) would be a good sub, and I might use even a little more salt. If my husband doesn't like it this dark I might back off on that extra tablespoon for him, but I like it. :) The recipe was quite easy and pretty quick, so I might not bother making Alton Brown's mix anymore. :) Condensed milk tastes better than dry milk by a long shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
My son requested hot chocolate and I wanted an easy recipe. This recipe seems a step above a packet of hot choc. mix. Which I like just fine. I did half water/milk because of other reviewers suggestions. I think it made it better. I would try this recipe if you want a simple and quick cup of HC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASERGEANTSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I had half a can of sweetened condensed milk left over from earlier this week, so I halved this recipe and used it here. I thought it could just just a little more chocolate flavor, it's just a might too sweet. I followed other reviewers lead and used milk instead of water. It's creamy, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I love this recipe and make it again and again. It's great to keep made in the fridge, heat as you want it. I add cinnamon and nutmeg to it sometimes. Other times I add allspice or pumpkin pie spice. It's good in so many ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrisbrandt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warrensburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Very good, kids love it. I did substitute half the water with milk, but it's a great recipe thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Covington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marysville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
great stuff! the only thing i changed was the water. i used 4 cups milk and 2 cups water. great on a cold winter day! thanks lisa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States