Creamy Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This was the best homemade hot chocolate I've made so far but it just needed to be a tad sweeter for our taste... the coco was the overpowering taste and without the whipped cream it just wasn't sweet enough. But everyone really liked it so I'm going to make it again but next time just use alittle less coco. I liked this much better than the store bought mixes that you just need to add hot water too. **UPDATE** I made this twice since the first time and I now make it with 1/3 cup coco, 3 1/2 cups water and 3 cups of milk... It's PERFECT!!! The kids keep asking for it. THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by giggletush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Very good hot chocolate. Just the right amount of sweetness and chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syndi Harris Bowlan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prosser, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
We made this just as stated, and it was perfect. The only thing I will do next time is to sift the cocoa. The lumps are kind of hard to get out. Milk would make it a bit richer, but I don't think it's necessary - just a preference thing. I added a bit of cayenne pepper to mine (I love spice!), but it would be great with a sprinkle of cinnamon, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This IS SOOOOOOO GOOD! even with water it was good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I tweeked this just a bit....I used 1 cup of heavy whipping cream and 5 cups skim milk instead of water. I also used 1/8 tsp of real vanilla extract which ended up being a little too much vanilla flavor for my taste, but still delicious! I topped with whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Wow I just made this because it is cold outside and I wanted a nice warm yummy drink. And once again wow it is delicious I subsituted the water for milk and and added pepperment and it tastes so yummy thanks for a a good recipe that will stay with my family throught the cold Autum and Winter days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amberc1993

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I made this with evaporated milk and 3/4 cup of sugar. I put a little less cocoa in because it was strong the first time. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Very easy and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
So good. Of course, now my husband says he ain't gonna drink that boxed no more. My mom always made hot chocolate on the stove for us but she used canned hersheys syrup... It was such a special treat.. I served this to my son and husband on valentines morning in red heart covered cups and loaded with whipped cream and sprinkled cocoa on top... Looked like a $5.00 hot chocolate... Tastes great cold too!!! ***** IMPORTANT***** USE MILK!!! NOT WATER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
not to my liking, texture was chalky
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailleet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States