Creamy Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
The syrup made by the cocoa & sweet cond milk is awesome! I will not buy Hershey's syrup again when I can make it so creamy at home. However 6 1/2 cups of water I think was too much water and my kids ddin't not think it was creamy enough. I made a second batch and changed the liquid to 2 1/2 c. whole milk & 2 1/2 c. water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdietrichson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I made this according to the recipe and found it bland. So I added about two squares of unsweetened chocolate (two T oil and 6 T cocoa) plus about 1/2 c extra sugar and it tasted better although a little too rich. I also added some mint extract as an extra. I think I'll be looking for a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
It was very good! I used 4 cups water and 2 1/2 cups of milk and it was yummy. Making it tonite while we put up our tree! Definitely on my top list of Hot Chocolate!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I made as written with the exception of only using 1/3 cup of the cocoa. After reading reviews I thought I would go lower and add more if needed. 1/3 cup was perfect. I made in the crockpot as some others suggested. This is the best hot chocolate ever!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Really enjoyed, although I found it reeeeeeally sweet! And I used milk instead of water. I think I'll use less condensed milk next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porto Alegre, Rio Grande Do Sul, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Needed a little more sweetness in it. Had to add some sugar when it was hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I loved this recipe! So yummy my husband and kids agreed also. only used 4 cups of water though, as I wanted it a little richer taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
use 2 cups half and half, 4 cups milk, and 1 1/2 cup water instead of 6 1/2 cups water--this will make it creamier. Sometimes I double this recipe and pour everything back in the milk carton and refrigerate it as chocolate milk for my children. In that case, I use the whole gallon of milk rather than water (and no half and half or cream).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This was absolutely, by far, the richest cup of hot chocolate that I have had! I did make these changes; I substituted the water with unsweetened almond milk (35 cal/8 oz) and added cinnamon. It was amazing! I'm sure that I could have only substituted half of the water... I still can't get over how rich it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Absolutely awesome! Made this for a Christmas party several years ago and now it is requested every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States