Creamy Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I've tried this recipe several times both with the microwave and over the stove. It makes a perfect sweet treat for cold weather. My best results came from cooking it over the stove using a molinillo de madera to work the chocolate and condensed milk in. I have also tried tossing a serving's worth into a mug and microwaving it for a minute. While it also tasted good that way, it was not as smooth as when I cooked it on the stove and really worked the ingredients together. Either way, I definitely enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly and it was great. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Just had snow in Georgia! While the kids were out playing, I realized I was out of hot cocoa. Allrecipes saved me again. I added about a cup or so of powdered milk to the water in place of whole milk, like was suggested. I also added one chocolate bar as the sweetened condensed milk flavor was a bit overpowering. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by romans8_38-39
Living In: Forsyth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
So simple to make, and very good! A bit rich, so next time we make it, we'll try some of the modifications suggested. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Lessened the cocoa as recommended, used 2% milk instead of hot water. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Rich and delicious! Used 4 cups milk and 1 cup water instead of just water. Could even add another cup or water. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I really loved t good treat for the kids
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I made it with Hershey's Dark Chocolate Cocoa powder, and it made it much richer. I also added a few shakes of sugar to adjust the taste of the dark cocoa. Turned out really well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizziekins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
This is the ONLY hot chocolate my family will drink! No powdered hot chocolate in my house. I serve it with marshmallow cream or real whipped cream sweetened to taste. This is very rich and is a much demanded treat when company comes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Used whole milk rather than water. Also, chopped up some 60% cacao chocolate (not much) to melt in along with the cocoa. Topped it off with homemade whipped cream and some more 60% shavings. Turned out yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States