Creamy Horseradish Garlic Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
In a word, FABULOUS! I've tried other horseradish dipping sauces on this site and this is by far the best! I would liken this more to of a spread/dip simply because it's just so versatile. I used reduced fat sour cream and Hellman's light mayo and this was oh so good! What's great about this is you can customize this to your tastes by adjusting the amounts of horseradish, garlic and dill - but no matter what you do it's bound to be delicious. I made this as a topping for some juicy burgers. I used the leftovers for some cut up veggies and my husband's sandwich for work. I can't wait to try this as on grilled steak sandwiches! Thanks for the great recipe ADZELL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
More a sauce than a spread, this blew everyone away at the dinner table tonight. My gosh this was good! I knew it was gonna be awesome right after I made it but of course it only got better after the flavors developed after several hours in the fridge. I might have used a little less pepper than called for since the horseradish I used really had a bite, but other than that I made no other changes, tho' I admit I didn't measure precisely. I served this with our corned beef and cabbage dinner, but I sure woudn't limit it to just that! This would also go well with prime rib, roast beef sandwiches, a dip for vegetables and quite possibly even on potatoes. We all SO enjoyed this that the bowl was scraped clean. A truly unforgettable sauce/spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Quick, easy & UTTERLY DELICIOUS, exactly as written! I've made 3 batches in the past 24 hours!! At first I made it for 2 servings, unsure of horseradish. As soon as I finished that with a variety of crisp vegetable slices, I made a half-batch more so others could enjoy it. Today, I made a full recipe to have available for more vegetable sticks & whole grain crackers over the next few days. I can also see this as a sauce for steak, salmon, & a sandwich spread (especially roast beef or cucumber sandwiches). Highly recommended! ~~~ UPDATED Feb. 2010: I've made this numerous times since, but with fresh dill, extra raw garlic & extra horseradish. It received rave reviews from everyone at the Super Bowl party. The women especially loved the healthy vegs & whole grain crackers with it. I also tried it as a spread for a prime rib sandwich ~ terrific! ~~~ LOWER FAT : Altho' perfect as is, I made it with 1/3-1/2 whole milk yogurt & the usual fresh dill, extra raw garlic & extra horseradish - it was as creamy~delicious as always, so that's how I'll make it from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Gosh this was so delicious I wanted to try it on everything. Even my ex would seem a little more palatable if dipped properly in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedBearX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stockton, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I made this to serve with beef tenderloin. I used 2 tablespoons of horeseradish and a full teaspoon of dill because I like a stronger flavor, but my family LOVED it. It was far more delicious than the horseradish dill sauce we previously used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Troy, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Try this as a little fork dip when having a nice rare piece of Prime Rib. it is heavenly, accents the beef perfectly. Very good, have made one similar. Making my mouth water for a prime rib already. Or any fine cut of meat. Ummmm give it a shot with steamed shrimp also....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COUNTRYRAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I made this the Saturday evening before Father's Day. I was planning on tossing it in the cooler along with veggies for a snack at the lake on Sunday. By 11:00 Saturday night it was gone! Can you say "make a double batch!"? I made it again on Tuesday and used it in tortilla roll ups with pastrami. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Can_It_Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I just made this today to use for tomorrow and I literally can not keep my fingers out of it! This is really tasty and I plan on using it as a spread on my steak hoagies for dinner tomorrow. I think it will go perfectly-I can't wait! ADZELL, thanks for such a great, easy delicious recipe that I know I will be using often! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
This recipe could not have been more perfect for any beef dish you serve! I used the sauce for my cheeseburger tonight for dinner. I made it exactly and was NOT dissapointed! This would be good on salmon too! I just thought of that one:) This ROCKS!! Thank you ADZELL for a very tasty sauce. Patty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I tried this with beef and as a veggie dip, and enjoyed it more with the beef. I also mixed 1/2 cup of the spread with the hard-boiled yolks from 12 eggs to make deviled eggs and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Aioli

Turn regular mayo into a versatile, zesty sauce for so many favorite foods.

Easy Garlic Broiled Chicken

This delicious dish is ready in less than 30 minutes.

Homemade Horseradish

See how incredibly easy it is to make fresh horseradish from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States