Creamy Homemade Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
I don't know how many stars to leave, because I admit I really changed this recipe, but I had to in order for it to work. One unwritten rule of crockpot cooking is: don't leave dairy products (namely milk or cheese) in the crockpot for extended periods of time. It will separate and just not work. So here's what I did. I put the chicken (used one large boneless chicken breast) in the crockpot with 3 cups of broth and all of the veggies except peas (omitted mushrooms). 3 cups of broth worked well- I don't see how it could have worked with 1. About an hour and half before we ate, I shredded the chicken and added the frozen peas (2 cups, not thawed). Then 30-45 minutes before we ate, I mixed one can (forget "one cup") of 2% evaporated milk with the flour in a large liquid measuring cup. Added that in and turned the slow cooker to high. Cooked until thick enough. Served with Butter Cresents from this site- yummy, good, comforting and filling! With my changes it's a 5, but as written, I'd say 3.... so I guess I'll give it a 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I followed a lot of What a Dish!'s recipe variation: I used three smallish boneless skinless chicken breasts, 2 cups of chicken broth, 2 cups of veg broth, around ½ tsp rosemary, several grounds of pepper, 1/4 tsp salt, and 1/4 of a large onion (chopped). I let this all cook on high for 2 hours, then I chopped the chicken breasts into bite-size pieces. I added 6 oz of mushrooms (sliced in half) and let cook for 2 hours on low. I added 3 potatoes (cubed) and 12 baby carrots. I let it cook another two hours, then I added a cup of frozen peas and let it cook another half hour. I mixed around ½ cup flour with a 12-oz can of evaporated milk and mixed around 3/4 of this into the stew and let it cook around 45 minutes longer. I was very good with homemade biscuits! I agree that you should NEVER add dairy in the beginning of slow cooking. I have found, though, that if you have something start to separate in the pot, you can stir in some sour cream to help bring it back together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2004
Be Forewarned!! I made this stew for a big holiday party and the milk separated!! I had to literally take the entire stew and rinse it by handfuls to clean it, and then threw together a quick broth mix for it. (Luckily, everyone loved the broth mix, so they never knew). The recipe was fabulous other than that - I would definitely use it again, just not with the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
My family loved this stew. Very tasty! It was a spur of the moment dinner idea so I did it on the stovetop instead of slow cooker. This caused the liquid to separate. I fixed that at the end by adding a little cornstarch. So, if you make this recipe on top of the stove, omit the flour until the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
Coming from a southern cook, this recipe fit the mold! Very creamy and hearty. I added a bit more seasoning that it called for and also thickened the sauce by adding more flour. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2002
Good recipe, but DO NOT use frozen vegetables.. they got really mushy. was great over rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
This stew did not turn out at all. The evaporated milk separated and the flavour is lacking. I would not recommend this to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2003
This recipe is worth making simply for the easy preparation, but it also tastes pretty good too. A great way to use up those limp veges from the refrigerator. (I just threw in whatever veges I could find.) The pearl onions were a bit much in my opinion, next time I willl just add chopped onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
Way too many onions. I will make it again with 1/2 cup of chopped sweet onions, and cook on HIGH for 6 hrs. not low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2001
Great recipe for the slow cooker! Something different! I served this over egg noodles, and even the kids were happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williamsville, New York, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States