Creamy Hollandaise Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2001
This is so very good but I have to triple this recipe. We like a lot of Hollandaise Sauce on a cajun breakfast I make. They used to serve it in a restaraunt we use to go to until they closed up.So now this is my version & I think I am very close to theirs. Thanks to your Hollandaise recipe .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
Delicious and decadent! You can experiment with different extracts instead of lemon juice to give it subtle flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2002
Easier than I thought it would be, and a great treat on my low carb diet! I don't own a double boiler, so I just simmered a pan of water and rested a metal bowl on top. The key is to put the yolk mixture in BEFORE the metal bowl heats, so that it warms slowly ... just like Avery said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
210 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
This seems to be fail-proof. I made it a number of times and each time it came out perfect. I also added a pinch of nutmeg and thought the sauce only benefited from it. It is now a staple in our home: I usually made it for grilled trout, or steamed veggies. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belgrade, Central Serbia, Serbia
Living In: Nicosia, Nicosia, Cyprus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
Oh my goodness!!! This is the BEST Hollandaise Sauce I have ever had. Not too lemony or thick...just right! Very quick and easy, I found, for my first time making it. I didn't have a double boiler, but I used very low heat and whisked constantly. Served over rosemary chicken and asparagus...mmmmmm! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANA COLE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
This recipe is super! The hollandaise thicken up nicely with very little effort. I took everyone's advice and only used 1 1/2 tablespoons of fresh lemon juice and it was perfect! I also altered the recipe a little tiny bit to accomodate the ingredients that I had on hand...I only used 3 yolks because we had extra large eggs and used 1/2 cup (or 1 stick) butter because 1 cup seemed a bit much. I also added a pinch of paprika to give it a little zing. Tasted great with my sauteed asparagus and mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
I used 4 TBS Lemon Juice and reduced the water by 1/2 TBS. (I love lemon) Added a pinch of nutmeg and only used 3/4 C. butter. Maybe I'll experiment and make it with less butter next time. Made it for Eggs Benedict. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
This recipe is delicious and SO easy to make. I don't have a double boiler, but it works fine in a regular saucepan. I added lemon to taste, and cut out the salt. It really didn't need it. Just remember to remove it from heat as soon as it's at the desired consistency. Delicious! It's became a regular staple at our dinnertable, and there's never any leftover. It's great over anything, especially asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Hyde

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ponchatoula, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
I also used low heat since I didnt have a double boiler. I also took the advice of others and used less lemon juice. It was easy and delicious. Thanks Avery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
I'll tone down the leamon next time, but other than that, this is an easy delicious recipe. NOTE: Add all the ingrediants to the pot prior to adding the egg yolks and you'll find it much easier to incorporate the eggs without cooking them too quickly. Basically it allows you to whisk the eggs the entire time they're in the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blender Hollandaise Sauce

For perfect Hollandaise sauce, break out the blender!

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Bacon Pancakes with Maple-Peanut Butter Sauce

Bacon is built right into these pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States