Creamy Hollandaise Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2002
Easier than I thought it would be, and a great treat on my low carb diet! I don't own a double boiler, so I just simmered a pan of water and rested a metal bowl on top. The key is to put the yolk mixture in BEFORE the metal bowl heats, so that it warms slowly ... just like Avery said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
208 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
This was an amazing recipe, the flavor was great. I did cut down on the lemon juice and used only 3 tablespoons. I will cut down a little more next time as I only like it a little tangy. I eliminated the salt altogether, really it isn't necessary since the butter is salty. I also used margarine as opposed to butter and it still came out wonderful. If you're like me and don't like your sauce with a strong lemony flavor, omit it until the end and just add to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
This recipe is super! The hollandaise thicken up nicely with very little effort. I took everyone's advice and only used 1 1/2 tablespoons of fresh lemon juice and it was perfect! I also altered the recipe a little tiny bit to accomodate the ingredients that I had on hand...I only used 3 yolks because we had extra large eggs and used 1/2 cup (or 1 stick) butter because 1 cup seemed a bit much. I also added a pinch of paprika to give it a little zing. Tasted great with my sauteed asparagus and mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
I'll tone down the leamon next time, but other than that, this is an easy delicious recipe. NOTE: Add all the ingrediants to the pot prior to adding the egg yolks and you'll find it much easier to incorporate the eggs without cooking them too quickly. Basically it allows you to whisk the eggs the entire time they're in the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
Oh my goodness!!! This is the BEST Hollandaise Sauce I have ever had. Not too lemony or thick...just right! Very quick and easy, I found, for my first time making it. I didn't have a double boiler, but I used very low heat and whisked constantly. Served over rosemary chicken and asparagus...mmmmmm! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANA COLE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
So take this recipe and half it. Keep the yolk amount correct for a full recipes worth. Perfect amount of lemon this way,nice and thick. Keep heat very low. If it starts to curdle add another yolk, it worked for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This recipe has become one of my *old faithfuls*. I cut the lemon down to 3T as well, and I temper my eggs. The recipe halves well, except I reduce the lemon even more, to 1T. As far as consistency, I've never had a problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeannine1976

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Followed recipe exactly. Tasted like lemon egg yolks. My husband said it left a bad taste in his mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMALA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
Many, many years ago I stayed at the Mccormic Inn in Chicago and room service delivered to me the best Eggs Benedict I have ever eaten. This is not it, but with a tweak & a tweak I'm sure it can be adjusted to duplicate my experience of long ago. Way too much lemon to start, but easy to make. I will tweak and try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
This seems to be fail-proof. I made it a number of times and each time it came out perfect. I also added a pinch of nutmeg and thought the sauce only benefited from it. It is now a staple in our home: I usually made it for grilled trout, or steamed veggies. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belgrade, Central Serbia, Serbia
Living In: Nicosia, Nicosia, Cyprus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blender Hollandaise Sauce

For perfect Hollandaise sauce, break out the blender!

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Bacon Pancakes with Maple-Peanut Butter Sauce

Bacon is built right into these pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States