Creamy Hollandaise Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I should have paid more attention to the comments about cutting back on the lemon juice. I used unsalted butter, but I think that was a mistake. Needed to add more salt and it just didn't flavor it correctly. As written, it was WAY too lemony. It had a nice texture...going to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I thought it was good and the consistency and lemon were perfect!... Only reason not 5 stars was it was a tad eggy tasting for me, maybe because I used extra large eggs. I didn't have 1/8 measuring spoon so I went with 1 drop worchesershire sauce...I will try cutting back yolks to 3 next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Tasted too much like lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I ended up following the other suggestions and used 3 tablespoons lemon juice and then added a half teaspoon of cayenne pepper. It turned out exactly the way we like it and it was incredibly easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iron Mountain, Michigan, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
taste just like Hollandaise sauce in a fancy restaurant! be sure to use that whisk and don't have heat too high when adding yolk to pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
Delicious! I had never made hollandaise from scratch, always used a premade mix. This was just as easy and way more lemony!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Very quick and easy! I didn't use double boiler and it turned out fine with continuos whisking. I liked the lemony taste and added parsley on top when I served it on eggs and hashbrowns!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracy m.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Good results, even though I used a saucepan directly on a stove on low heat. Just kept whisking and stirring. However, lessen the lemon juice by half a tablespoon if you don't like your sauce so tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by argus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taiping, Perak, Malaysia
Living In: Cham, Zug, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
Velvety smooth and tasty. I found it to be a little too lemony for my taste. I will definately use this recipe again but cut back slightly on the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seaweasel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by furusob
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
A wonderfull, easy to follow recipe. I did not have white pepper on hand, so I used black pepper and omitted the Worstershire. (I can't say it, let alone spell it!) Served it on baked salmon and asparagus with wild rice on the side. Creamy, not too tart, and didn't even think about breaking! A great sauce recipe I will be using from now on. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by furusob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blender Hollandaise Sauce

For perfect Hollandaise sauce, break out the blender!

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Bacon Pancakes with Maple-Peanut Butter Sauce

Bacon is built right into these pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States