Creamy Hollandaise Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Tip, clarify your UNSALTED butter before you start. I just microwave it until it starts to boil and then skim off the foam, make sure it cools a bit before you use it. For step 1, avoid salts as they break the emulsion you are trying to form, so no Worcestershire (if you must, you can add it at the end). Just start with the acid (vinegar or lemon juice) and egg yokes, slowly warmed in the double boiler while whisking fairly vigorously (and I stress what the recipe says, do NOT let the top pan touch the water -- you want to warm it up slowly not cook the egg yokes). When the mixture starts to thicken add the first 1 tbsp of hot water, let it cook a little longer and add another tbsp of water, when it starts to thicken again you are ready to move to step 2. It should take a while to reach this point, an electric whisk can speed this up (and save your arm) but don't over beat the eggs; let it take it's time. If it starts to thicken too much then you have too much heat. Remove from heat immediately and add 1 tbsp water -- if it's really bad another egg yoke might revive it. For step 2, make sure the butter is not hot. Just drizzle in about 1 tbsp at a time and then whisk until it's fully incorporated before moving on. Those finding this "too lemony", are you using the full cup of butter? Best of luck to all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Great basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JohnnyCakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I've never made Hollandaise before, but this turned out great! I followed other reviewers' advice and cut the lemon juice in half (and it was still very lemony). It was great on top of some steamed asparagus... mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CalgaryJosie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
This recipe was easy to make and the sauce turned out beautifully mixed. It did not separate and was very smooth. That being said it there was far too much lemon in the sauce for it to be used on eggs. I will use this recipe again but I will start with 1 teaspoon of lemon juice and work up from there. I have rated this recipe as 2 because it did not work with my eggs benedict and I was unable to serve them with the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellyanah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I thought I followed the directions exactly, including removing from heat and covering the pan with a lid to keep it warm. The sauce was great for about 5 minutes, then it separated and I could not fix it. That could just be novice cooking. So, my 3 stars is because it was way too lemony and I even reduced the lemon juice to 3 tbsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Very quick and simple to make. I've always had it at restaurants. This is a great recipe! I drizzles it over poached eggs on English muffins with sauted mushrooms and Brie cheese. The breakfast was a hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amaturecook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I found it too "lemony" and too salty. Nice texture and easy to make though, I will adjust the ingredients next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Why did I buy the Knorr hollandaise sauce mix for so long? This is fantastic and surprisingly easy. I used 3 tbsp. lemon juice and it was great on steamed asparagus, although a little too tangy for the poached eggs. I added about 1/2 tsp mustard powder and that helped tone down the lemon. Next time, I'll start with 1 tbsp lemon juice then gradually add to taste, depending on the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This was my first time making this and it was wonderful!! I made it to go on the Potato Salmon Patties and my whole family went crazy over it. Loved the reviews that said to wisk the egg in the pan before it gets warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I made this today and it came out awesome! The only change I made was using a dash of Tabasco instead of Worcestershire, but that's just because I had Tabasco sauce on hand. One note, when tasting the sauce on its own it tastes too lemony, but when it is applied to the target food it is BLISS. My eggs benedict came out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by willum070

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blender Hollandaise Sauce

For perfect Hollandaise sauce, break out the blender!

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Bacon Pancakes with Maple-Peanut Butter Sauce

Bacon is built right into these pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States