Creamy Hollandaise Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
This turned out really well, and I didn't even measure everything exactly. I used a bit less butter and lemon juice. I don't have a double-boiler, so I stacked two of my deepest pans. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
My first time making Hollandaise sauce, and it actually turned out! Agree with other reviewers that there is too much lemon juice in the recipe, I'd cut it in half next time, but the flavor is there! I sprinkled some paprika over the top as color and garnish, and it added a nice flavor to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by macattack

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Too much lemon. To use this recipe as a dip for vegetables would be fine but I don't recommend pouring this over Eggs Benedict since it is so sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I think there must be a typo in the recipe...there is no way there should be 3.5 TABLEspoons of lemon. I even cut down and made the recipe as is except but with 1 3/4T of lemon...STILL too much lemon. This is the first time I"ve made hollandaise sauce but I eat it all the time, so I'm certain that this is just not how it should taste. The upside...it was very easy to make and came out super creamy. I might try it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Geneva, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This was delish, and easy peasy! Will definitely be cutting way back on the lemon juice though! Saying it was a bit tart was an understatement. Loved the velvety texture though! Added a bit more worcestshire, and some cayenne pepper and some tobasco sauce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SASSYSAUTE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
No double boiler so I use metal mixing bowl on a small pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CINDY LOU WHO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phillipsburg, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I don't have a double boiler and I only wanted one serving, so I used a pinch of salt, pinch of white pepper, couple drops of worcestershire, couple more drops of water, one egg yolk and about 3/4 T lemon juice... in my smallest heavy-bottom pot, on low with a plastic whisk, and 1/2 stick of butter cut into 1/4" slices (added one at a time). It turned out almost perfect - next time I'll make more :) and cut the lemon juice to 1/2 T per yolk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Morehead, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
The recipe and procedures were very easy to follow. I will use at least 1/2 of the lemon juice next time. It was far too lemony for a true hollandaise where there should only be a hint of lemon flavor. Otherwise a good recipe that I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
The lemon was WAY too strong. My boyfriend tried it, and said he didn't know what it was, but it wasn't hollandaise sauce. I used almost $3.00 worth of butter trying to fix it before I threw it out and went with a good ol' Home and Garden recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal River, Florida, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blender Hollandaise Sauce

For perfect Hollandaise sauce, break out the blender!

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Bacon Pancakes with Maple-Peanut Butter Sauce

Bacon is built right into these pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States