Creamy Ham and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
This is a keeper. Made it in the crockpot. Added celery and garlic salt. Went light on the ham. The garlic salt added a lot. Will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Without a doubt this is the best bean (soup) we have ever had. Definitely soak the beans overnight or at least all day. I used 8 cups of chicken broth instead of the water and 1 pound of soaked beans. I put that on the stove and brought them to a boil and then turned them down to a simmer. About an hour later, I added my onions and ham...maybe about 2 to 2 1/2 cups of ham (what was left from easter after sandwiches). Returned to a simmer until done...about another 1 1/2 hours. I then added 2 cans of the soup and 8 ounces of Velveeta and about 1 1/2 cups more chicken broth for the soupiness we like. It was amazing. I am sure it would be good just as written...just thought I'd share what had my family saying "OMG that was good" all evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
AWESOME. We put the beans, ham, and onion in the slow cooker for 8 hours and mixed in the soup and cheese about 20 minutes before serving. Didn't even get any to freeze
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This is a keeper. Family loved it. Even the kids. I added Italian seasoning and lots of garlic and garlic salt. I made this in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
VERY easy and great for holiday leftovers. I used shredded cheddar cheese instead of the fake cheese and it was spectacular! Super yummy with sliced ciabatta bread, or italian bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This was my first time making this dish and it was easy and super good. I added garlic powder and onion powder along with salt for added flavor. The dam loved it and will definitely make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2000
"This is a great bean soup recipe. Will make again. Although had to add a little bit more spices at the end, it still was wonderful."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Great meal and other than the ham, pretty inexpensive to make - I had it cooking all day and put in the crock pot with the cheese and soup for several hours. (good with ketchup and hot sauce added per bowl too!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I added some diced green peppers and some cooked rattlesnake meat and this was a big hit. Everyone wanted seconds and even thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMaudie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Great recipe....I did use less water based on other reviews stating it was too watery and I added 1 can of cream of mushroom soup. I still think I would use even less water next time to make it more creamy. I also used 1 cup of celery instead of 1/2 stalk and added the ham drippings/glaze from the ham that I used for the recipe. Really added fantastic flavor to the stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Pantry Ham and Beans

Creamy Great Northern beans simmer with cooked ham, brown sugar, and spices.

Smoked Pork Shank with White Beans

Comforting, rustic pork shank is braised with creamy white beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States