Creamy Green Beans Parmesan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I love this sauce! I make this same sauce for my pork chops!!! The only thing I do different is instead of using nutmeg, I use garlic powder :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by @},--'-----

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Hood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
The amounts required are wrong! I made the sauce as written and it was too dry. It barely coated the green beans. The sauce tasted great, but I would not make it as written again. You should double the sauce recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catlin
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
So good! I used a 12 oz package of frozen green beans that I cooked in the microwave. I did the sauce on the stove and then added the beans to that. I used half & half instead of the heavy cream. This was so creamy and tasty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Excellent! The sauce is amazing and would be great on lots of other veggies and maybe even meat. The nutmeg is a must! DON'T LEAVE IT OUT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evillhog

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fortuna, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
These were very good, and I will make this recipe again. I like to eat my veggies crisp-tender as the recipe states, but there isn't any "cooking" time for the beans more than you do in the water: cook them to the texture you'll enjoy. I made the sauce as-written and though the amount was good: coated but not swimming in the sauce. I was excited to go outside my spice comfort zone and use nutmeg and while my boyfriend loved it I think spicy is more my thing: will substitute for Cajun seasoning or garlic powder as another reviewer mentioned. A flexible side, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Very Good. I followed the recipe exactly. My boyfriend wishes I had made more. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_Quick_Fix

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
i used whole milk in place of cream and it still tasted delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Served this dish for Mother's Day family dinner with Slow Cooker Thanksgiving Turkey from this website. As good as the turkey and gravy were, the green beans stole the show. Used frozen haricots verts. Followed another reviewer's advice and used half & half instead of cream. Gave a generous shake of nutmeg. Glad I did, it added a subtle dimension to the dish that put it over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Fast, easy, and the family gobbled them all up. I used canned green beans. Mild flavor, very creamy. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
OH MY GOD! These were the second best green beans I've ever had in my life! (My favorite recipe is sweet green bean bundles from this site but those are covered in sugar and wrapped in bacon so that's sorta cheating) I used a little less than a full pound of green beans so they were a bit saucier than they would have been making them exactly as stated. My husband and I both hate fresh green beans so I've been searching for a recipe that would make them appetizing for us. This is it! I did steam them rather than boiling and cooked them past "barely tender" to suit our tastes. I used 1/8 tsp of nutmeg and found it was the perfect amount. I also used Sargento's Artisan blend Parmesan but I don't know if that makes much difference. I recommend trying this even if you aren't crazy about nutmeg or fresh green beans. I will be making these for company and look forward to trying it on asparagus. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosebud, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States