Creamy Green Beans Parmesan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
WONDERFUL DISH.... WILL BE MY NEW THANKSGIVING SIDE DISH !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
OH MY GOD! These were the second best green beans I've ever had in my life! (My favorite recipe is sweet green bean bundles from this site but those are covered in sugar and wrapped in bacon so that's sorta cheating) I used a little less than a full pound of green beans so they were a bit saucier than they would have been making them exactly as stated. My husband and I both hate fresh green beans so I've been searching for a recipe that would make them appetizing for us. This is it! I did steam them rather than boiling and cooked them past "barely tender" to suit our tastes. I used 1/8 tsp of nutmeg and found it was the perfect amount. I also used Sargento's Artisan blend Parmesan but I don't know if that makes much difference. I recommend trying this even if you aren't crazy about nutmeg or fresh green beans. I will be making these for company and look forward to trying it on asparagus. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosebud, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This is wonderful! I have used it on cauliflower and broccoli and look forward to trying on other veggies which I usually steam first. The only thing I did different was to add crumbled bacon. Thanks for this one, Jodster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roma

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Really really good! I thought I would like these so I made a double batch only to have every last bean eaten! Will def make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I like my fresh green beans cooked with butter, onion, salt & pepper and some garlic! So I substituted frozen lime beans, they were delicious!!! I find lime beans dry and with this creamy sauce it made all the difference in the world. I added a small clove of minced garlic and I always use fresh nutmeg that I grated not to much b/c fresh nutmeg is a lot stronger just a couple of swipes on the grater, I actually enjoyed them. I gave the recipe 4 stars b/c I changed it, but it really is a 5…Will make this again with limas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
This was good, but not exceptional. To me it wasn't worth dirtying the extra pan when grating the parm on top would've been just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah-May

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Good, but it's missing something. Garlic? I doubled the recipe and there were no leftovers so I guess it was a hit nonetheless. I did use last years crop of fresh green beans that I flash froze. I think this would much better had I had fresh green beans, as the recipe stated. I'll try it again once I have a little extra for fresh beans in my food budget.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Nice way to do green beans. Lots of flavor. I admit I used a substitute for the heavy cream, but no matter, the flavor was still all there. I opted out on the nutmeg, as the recipe doesn't specify how much, so I just didn't want to go there. I would steam my beans in just a little water next time, but that's the only change I would make to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Photo by Mary
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
This was wonderful and my family loved it! Knowing that my family prefer a generousamout of any sauces and toppings, etc., I doubled the sauce portion of the rcipe. If your family is the same way, it is easy enough to do. Double the butter, cream, and first of the Parmesan cheese. If your family prefers just a subtle hint of topping, then follow the recipe as written. I prefer to steam green beans, so that's what I did. Basically just cook the beans how you like them, then make your sauce and add the beans. So very easy and delicous, too. We like cheese, but only used one tablespoon to sprinkle on before serving. If you have an ounce of common sense, you can make this to suit your taste buds. This was a wonderful addition to my dinner presentation. Thank you for this fine recipe. By the way, I was fairly generous with the nutmeg, but didn't even notice it. I guess it did blend in afterall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Good recipe, I cooked the beans 10 minutes for our preference and doubled the sauce. I wish I would have even tripled it because I served this over rice for hubby and spinach noodles for myself. Made a nice meatless meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina

Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States