Creamy German Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I haven't actually tried this recipe but it sounds just about exactly like my family's recipe. (My family is German, Irish, and Czech and the recipe likely came from the German and Irish side of the family.) I'm not sure if the recipe author forgot to write this step but we always shred the cabbage and salt it and let it wilt before adding the dressing. We've tweaked it slightly but the flavor remains constant. We now use partially non-fat yogurt to save on calories and the rest mayo. Another idea is that if seeds present an annoyance to perhaps folks with braces or people fussy about their teeth there is such a thing as ground celery seed that is available and we now use that every time we make coleslaw. If ground celery seed is unavailable you could always grind the seed yourself in a coffee grinder dedicated to spices alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I didn't make quite as written. I had a bag of pre-shredded slaw mix and didn't think it made enough dressing so I used an additional 1/2 cup of mayo. I also did not add celery seed because I didn't have any and added about a teaspoon of black pepper. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
yummy so very good, creamy and full of flavor. I used bagged coslaw with carrots. So happy with the results of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Easy, tasty, and quick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
OMG!!!! This is by far the Best tasting Coleslaw Recipe I've ever tried!!!! Very simple. We ate it as soon as I made this. It wasn't even chilled. Thank You Catherine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marichell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Hueneme, California, USA
Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I used a pre-packaged cole slaw blend and low fat mayo and Stevia non-sugar sweetner instead of sugar. I also added some fine diced red onion. My family loved this with their pulled pork sandwiches. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This was fantastic!!! I used a bag of shredded coleslaw and doubled the recipe. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EastCoastGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Amazingly good. Just like my most fave slaw from a certain fast food restaurant. I used bagged slaw mix to make it even more simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maia Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I needed a quick recipe to use up some shredded cabbage and this was perfect! With a little horseradish added, it would probably taste just like the stuff from the famous chicken restaurant. There was no celery seed in the house, but I will buy some for next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Great coleslaw. Made it as written except added some shredded carrots as well for color. I like the simple list of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr. Fogg
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Nana's Southern Coleslaw

A creamy, tangy, vintage slaw handed down through the generations.

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States