Creamy German Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I made this tonight for my 8 year old son and myself. It was great! It was quick and easy and we both loved it. I used a purple cabbage that I had on hand, three small carrots and a bunch of green onions. I put them in my high speed blender, covered with water and blended for 5 seconds, variable 5. I drained it and after drying it, added in the sauce, which I followed as printed. This is definitely a keeper. It went well with the BBQ chicken and yams. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Great recipe! I made it as written though I did add a shredded carrot and one bunch of green onions finely sliced. The balance of flavors in the dressing is perfect. I measured every thing into a a jar, shook it up, then poured over the cabbage. So easy! This one goes in the recipe box for future use. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Family loves this (hubby, 2 yr old, 4 yr old, and me). Don't bother taste testing until it sits in refrigerator for a couple hours. I didn't have celery seed the first time I made it but added 1tsp chia seed for the health benefit and since it also gave a similar look. This week I added 1tsp ground flaxseed as well and it did not alter the flavor. So far it's been good even with me tweaking the recipe. Highly recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
i added cider vinegar and a pinch of yellow mustard to liven up a bit. The taste was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Wonderful. quick and great with BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I've made this one a few times, and I'm pretty sure it's the keeper. Easy, fast, (I think it takes me about 6 minutes, and that includes chopping the cabbage), and just the perfect classic version I had been looking for. I've tried a lot of them; the cooked versions, the ones with a cup of sugar and mayo, the ones with mustard or horseradish or whatever, and they're all too sweet, or too gloppy, or just not the flavor I was missing, this one is just perfect, and the exact right amount of dressing for the softball sized organic cabbages I usually have languishing in the crisper. I do add a carrot, and today I added a green pepper that I needed to use up, I imagine you can add anything you like and it would be fine. I mix the dressing in a tupperware bowl, dump the cabbage and carrot on top, shake, done, and even better the next day. Really happy with this one, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I have doubled this recipe several times and it goes over so well with everyone! Even those who like more of a vinegar-like slaw...it's a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I used bagged slaw mix, and made this exactly as written. I let it chill for about 2 hrs. It was wonderful, so good I ate the whole bag at dinner. I would not change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Love this cole slaw, used 1/2 Tbsp less sugar cause we like it with a Twang!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stumbing Gourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
I made with 2 packets stevia instead of sugar, and with cumin seeds instead of celery seeds, using bagged cole slaw mix. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Nana's Southern Coleslaw

A creamy, tangy, vintage slaw handed down through the generations.

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States