Creamy Garlic and Onion Spaghetti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Other than omitting the sugar, which I didn't find necessary to caramelize the onions at all, I prepared this as written, just eyeballing the ingredients rather than measuring (thereby also getting more enjoyment out of the cooking experience itself). This is simply prepared and decadently delicious. And I do mean decadent - it is heavy, creamy and rich, and I enjoyed every last bite of this right down to the last drop of sauce on my plate. As it turned out, the sugar, small amount that it was, was indeed not necessary - the onions provided sweetness of their own, so adding any extra sugar would not have benefited the dish at all. As the sauce was simmering those last few minutes, I added in some frozen, raw shrimp, not because I felt the dish required it but just because I felt like it. To give it some color and freshness I gave it a sprinkle of fresh parsley. I’ll fret about all the “bad” things I ate tonight (calories, fat, carbs) tomorrow. For now, I’m just gonna revel in the fact that I just enjoyed a very good meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Very, very good! I don't know what else to say! I added just a little bit of freshly chopped parsley. The sweetness of the onion with the garlic and the wine...mmm, it all goes together so well. I will absolutely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
REALLY good pasta - made it for the wife & kids. The onions simmer down until they're almost sweet, and the flavors are really paired well together!!! Hearty, comforting, and an instant hit... we will be adding this to the regular lineup. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
WOW - If you are after a that pasta that you always crave from your favourite restaurant and can never make at home - this is it! So decadent and satisfying both my husband and I thought this recipe was to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stefychefy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Deceptively Simple, sinfully good. Made this one 3 times now, better each time. If you notice the garlic, onion, and butter browning too fast, you can add a teaspoon or so of COLD water into the mix and stir it, which stops them from overcooking. I added a touch more parmesan than called for (we love Parmesan), and this recipe is easily our favorite pasta, either as a regular treat for us or anytimne we want to impress company - this is the recipe to do, folks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Excellent. I followed the recipe exactly, but did have to simmer longer than the recipe said to get the results I needed. No biggy. We are not "cooking with wine" people, but I try periodically to learn. This recipe helped me learn and I was pleased with the results. This is only my second success story with wine. We will make again. Perhaps we will top it with a grilled chicken or shrimp. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Easy to make, excellent flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
OMG GOOD!!! If you're looking for that one go-to dish that will impress even the most critical company, this is definitely IT. Although there is some initial prep time slicing onions / garlic, the set up of this dish is super easy, and all you need for it to be perfect is a little time. This is a 5-STAR KEEPER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I'd made this recipe 3 times now, and each time its 5 star and gets better and better. If you're looking for something to impress company, THIS IS IT. A tip - make sure the heat isn't "boiling" hot when you complete Step 1 (cooking the onions / garlic). Note the instructions say LOW heat... if you cook them at too high a temperature they'll go bitter. Do it right, and boy this is heaven - we always make double the recipe so we have leftovers, and my office mates are always JEALOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
A very rich dish that my DH and I really enjoyed. I used cut spaghetti rather than regular length spaghetti and changed the heavy cream to half and half. I purchased a small single serve bottle of Chardonnay to make this dish. This dish was served with 'Pork Medallions with Balsamic Vinegar and Capers' from AR and 'Balsamic Green Beans' a personal recipe from AR. Dinner was very good, and I would make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Bay Scallops with Spaghetti

A super-simple pasta dish with bay scallops in a sherry cream sauce.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States