Creamy Garlic and Onion Spaghetti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Other than omitting the sugar, which I didn't find necessary to caramelize the onions at all, I prepared this as written, just eyeballing the ingredients rather than measuring (thereby also getting more enjoyment out of the cooking experience itself). This is simply prepared and decadently delicious. And I do mean decadent - it is heavy, creamy and rich, and I enjoyed every last bite of this right down to the last drop of sauce on my plate. As it turned out, the sugar, small amount that it was, was indeed not necessary - the onions provided sweetness of their own, so adding any extra sugar would not have benefited the dish at all. As the sauce was simmering those last few minutes, I added in some frozen, raw shrimp, not because I felt the dish required it but just because I felt like it. To give it some color and freshness I gave it a sprinkle of fresh parsley. I’ll fret about all the “bad” things I ate tonight (calories, fat, carbs) tomorrow. For now, I’m just gonna revel in the fact that I just enjoyed a very good meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Excellent. I followed the recipe exactly, but did have to simmer longer than the recipe said to get the results I needed. No biggy. We are not "cooking with wine" people, but I try periodically to learn. This recipe helped me learn and I was pleased with the results. This is only my second success story with wine. We will make again. Perhaps we will top it with a grilled chicken or shrimp. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Followed this recipe to the T and it was just OK. Not sure I'll make it again. Seemed bland and doesn't stick in my memory enough to make me want to cook it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Everyone loved this pasta. The only thing I added was mushrooms and chicken. Also I don't like wine in my cooking so I used chicken broth. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Excellent. Subtle mild flavours make this the perfect accompaniment to chicken or beef with stronger flavours. On its own itis a great dish. Tomatos would be great with this. I used less cream and wine and it was still lovely with great texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This was good, I think my husband actually liked this better than I did. I didn't have wine so I used chicken broth. I thought it was a little too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hartsellem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Easy to make, excellent flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Deceptively Simple, sinfully good. Made this one 3 times now, better each time. If you notice the garlic, onion, and butter browning too fast, you can add a teaspoon or so of COLD water into the mix and stir it, which stops them from overcooking. I added a touch more parmesan than called for (we love Parmesan), and this recipe is easily our favorite pasta, either as a regular treat for us or anytimne we want to impress company - this is the recipe to do, folks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I did a little more cheese and only a splash of cream. Added some peas and instead of pasta used julienned yellow squash "noodles". No salt needed, the cheese adds enough. When the garden gets going this will be a hot weather staple because I did it in one pot and no need to boil water for the squash noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this pasta - it was like a big hug on a cold night. Made it with a breaded chicken breast and fresh broccoli, and this dinner was a HIT!!! Definately keeping this in the rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Creamy Bay Scallops with Spaghetti

A super-simple pasta dish with bay scallops in a sherry cream sauce.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States