Creamy Garlic and Onion Spaghetti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
OMG GOOD!!! If you're looking for that one go-to dish that will impress even the most critical company, this is definitely IT. Although there is some initial prep time slicing onions / garlic, the set up of this dish is super easy, and all you need for it to be perfect is a little time. This is a 5-STAR KEEPER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I'd made this recipe 3 times now, and each time its 5 star and gets better and better. If you're looking for something to impress company, THIS IS IT. A tip - make sure the heat isn't "boiling" hot when you complete Step 1 (cooking the onions / garlic). Note the instructions say LOW heat... if you cook them at too high a temperature they'll go bitter. Do it right, and boy this is heaven - we always make double the recipe so we have leftovers, and my office mates are always JEALOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I must have done something wrong! It sounds so good, but didnt turn out for me at all. Onions didnt cook well, sauce didnt thicken... sometimes my cooking attempts crash n burn! Still sounds good -- i may play around and tweak the recipe a bit next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
This was excellent! I omitted the sugar since caramelized onions are naturally sweet.I also tossed in a bunch of mushrooms along with the onions. My family loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This was pretty good, and I would probably make it again, but did not feel it was amazing. It seems to be missing something, but I'm not sure what. First time I made it I followed the recipe, second time I added mushrooms and shrimp which were a nice addition but still felt like it could be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
A very rich dish that my DH and I really enjoyed. I used cut spaghetti rather than regular length spaghetti and changed the heavy cream to half and half. I purchased a small single serve bottle of Chardonnay to make this dish. This dish was served with 'Pork Medallions with Balsamic Vinegar and Capers' from AR and 'Balsamic Green Beans' a personal recipe from AR. Dinner was very good, and I would make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
This was soooo good! I used red onion instead of white. My family and I loved it. It made me look good! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Followed the recipe to a T. Surprised how sweet the onions were. Easy to make and build/add to. I added garlic old bay shrimp. Next time I'll add chicken. The recipe didn't make as much as I thought or, perhaps I just like things saucy. Made about 2 1/2 bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Other than omitting the sugar, which I didn't find necessary to caramelize the onions at all, I prepared this as written, just eyeballing the ingredients rather than measuring (thereby also getting more enjoyment out of the cooking experience itself). This is simply prepared and decadently delicious. And I do mean decadent - it is heavy, creamy and rich, and I enjoyed every last bite of this right down to the last drop of sauce on my plate. As it turned out, the sugar, small amount that it was, was indeed not necessary - the onions provided sweetness of their own, so adding any extra sugar would not have benefited the dish at all. As the sauce was simmering those last few minutes, I added in some frozen, raw shrimp, not because I felt the dish required it but just because I felt like it. To give it some color and freshness I gave it a sprinkle of fresh parsley. I’ll fret about all the “bad” things I ate tonight (calories, fat, carbs) tomorrow. For now, I’m just gonna revel in the fact that I just enjoyed a very good meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Excellent. I followed the recipe exactly, but did have to simmer longer than the recipe said to get the results I needed. No biggy. We are not "cooking with wine" people, but I try periodically to learn. This recipe helped me learn and I was pleased with the results. This is only my second success story with wine. We will make again. Perhaps we will top it with a grilled chicken or shrimp. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Bay Scallops with Spaghetti

A super-simple pasta dish with bay scallops in a sherry cream sauce.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States