Creamy Garlic Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
Hubs was much more impressed with this salad dressing than I was but then again he didn’t taste it in its original state, before I did a whole lot of monkeying around with it to make it taste like something other than simply sour cream out of the carton. More steak sauce, more lemon juice, a lot of buttermilk to make it more of a dressing consistency and a boat load of fresh dill before I could make something out of this. As is, pretty nondescript. This requires a whole lot of tweaking, which I’m sure most of the favorable reviews are based on. Given its potential, I generously rate this 3-stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Very good! Needed a creamy dressing asap and this fit. Used more garlic incuding minced and a little basil. yum! Used this as chip dip too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
It is very bland. Had to do a lot of tweaking and it's still not the way I envision creamy garlic dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jojofilini

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Clair Shores, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
nice savory dressing. I did increase the amount of steak sauce, lemon juice, vinegar and garlic just a little bit. I do tend to like fresh minced garlic over the powder, but the garlic powder provides a certain bite that was missing when I used only the fresh minced. I added salt and pepper, no specific amount just to taste. anyone who was dissatisfied with this and used the fresh garlic, try the powder either alone or in addition to the minced, it will make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
This was good, although without modification it's pretty bland. I upped the steak sauce to 2 tsp, and used 1 T. of vinegar. I also added salt, pepper, and onion powder, and used fresh crushed garlic rather than powder. And no MSG! With the changes it was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
This is so good. I did add more garlic and instead of white wine vinegar I used apple cider vinegar and did also add a bit of milk to thin it out. Great dip. But for dressing thin out with some milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Creamy & good. We like to drizzle it over steak, roast, steamed vegetables, baked potato. It's not just a salad dressing, more like a universal sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I left the msg out and it turned out ok....just didn't taste as salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Just made it and love it already. Looking forward to tomorrow when all the flavors "marry". I did fool around with this and took lots of reviewers suggestions- 1t. each lemon juice, vinegar and oil, cottage cheese in place of sour cream, dry mustard instead of seeds, a touch of dry ginger, honey and freshly ground black pepper, and half amount of seasoned salt instead of MSG. Keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Wow! This dressing is delicious! I used lite mayonnaise and fat free sour cream and it tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by birdylou68

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gray, Maine, USA
Living In: Lewiston, Maine, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

How to Roast Garlic

Roast garlic in four easy steps for flavorful mashers, dips, and garlic toast.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States