Creamy Garlic Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
It is very bland. Had to do a lot of tweaking and it's still not the way I envision creamy garlic dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jojofilini

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Clair Shores, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
nice savory dressing. I did increase the amount of steak sauce, lemon juice, vinegar and garlic just a little bit. I do tend to like fresh minced garlic over the powder, but the garlic powder provides a certain bite that was missing when I used only the fresh minced. I added salt and pepper, no specific amount just to taste. anyone who was dissatisfied with this and used the fresh garlic, try the powder either alone or in addition to the minced, it will make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
This was good, although without modification it's pretty bland. I upped the steak sauce to 2 tsp, and used 1 T. of vinegar. I also added salt, pepper, and onion powder, and used fresh crushed garlic rather than powder. And no MSG! With the changes it was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
This is so good. I did add more garlic and instead of white wine vinegar I used apple cider vinegar and did also add a bit of milk to thin it out. Great dip. But for dressing thin out with some milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Creamy & good. We like to drizzle it over steak, roast, steamed vegetables, baked potato. It's not just a salad dressing, more like a universal sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I left the msg out and it turned out ok....just didn't taste as salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Just made it and love it already. Looking forward to tomorrow when all the flavors "marry". I did fool around with this and took lots of reviewers suggestions- 1t. each lemon juice, vinegar and oil, cottage cheese in place of sour cream, dry mustard instead of seeds, a touch of dry ginger, honey and freshly ground black pepper, and half amount of seasoned salt instead of MSG. Keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Wow! This dressing is delicious! I used lite mayonnaise and fat free sour cream and it tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by birdylou68

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gray, Maine, USA
Living In: Lewiston, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This recipe was a great starting point for me. I didn't use MSG, steak sauce, or mustard seed, but I did use some ginger powder and a bit of honey. I'm giving this recipe 4-stars because I didn't follow the recipe exactly but the result still tasted like creamy garlic dressing. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
5 since the changes were very minor; I don't have MSG.....used Lowrys Season Salt which I do have on hand and contains MSG; the consistency is too thick for me (PLOPS on the salad.....I prefer mine to pour) so I just added some milk to thin to desired consistency. I was looking for a creamy dressing as I was making a grilled steak salad and the vinegarettes we had on hand didn't seem to fit the bill with the grilled steak.......the creamy garlic paired very well. I made it last minute and it was good.......I suspect it will be even better tomorrow after the flavors have time to age.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

How to Roast Garlic

Roast garlic in four easy steps for flavorful mashers, dips, and garlic toast.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States