Creamy Garlic Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
This was good, although without modification it's pretty bland. I upped the steak sauce to 2 tsp, and used 1 T. of vinegar. I also added salt, pepper, and onion powder, and used fresh crushed garlic rather than powder. And no MSG! With the changes it was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
This is so good. I did add more garlic and instead of white wine vinegar I used apple cider vinegar and did also add a bit of milk to thin it out. Great dip. But for dressing thin out with some milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Creamy & good. We like to drizzle it over steak, roast, steamed vegetables, baked potato. It's not just a salad dressing, more like a universal sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I left the msg out and it turned out ok....just didn't taste as salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Just made it and love it already. Looking forward to tomorrow when all the flavors "marry". I did fool around with this and took lots of reviewers suggestions- 1t. each lemon juice, vinegar and oil, cottage cheese in place of sour cream, dry mustard instead of seeds, a touch of dry ginger, honey and freshly ground black pepper, and half amount of seasoned salt instead of MSG. Keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Wow! This dressing is delicious! I used lite mayonnaise and fat free sour cream and it tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by birdylou68

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gray, Maine, USA
Living In: Lewiston, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This recipe was a great starting point for me. I didn't use MSG, steak sauce, or mustard seed, but I did use some ginger powder and a bit of honey. I'm giving this recipe 4-stars because I didn't follow the recipe exactly but the result still tasted like creamy garlic dressing. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
5 since the changes were very minor; I don't have MSG.....used Lowrys Season Salt which I do have on hand and contains MSG; the consistency is too thick for me (PLOPS on the salad.....I prefer mine to pour) so I just added some milk to thin to desired consistency. I was looking for a creamy dressing as I was making a grilled steak salad and the vinegarettes we had on hand didn't seem to fit the bill with the grilled steak.......the creamy garlic paired very well. I made it last minute and it was good.......I suspect it will be even better tomorrow after the flavors have time to age.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Really good! I followed the recipe exactly, down to the MSG. I think I would probably prefer this with fresh garlic, but it was als fine with powder. Loved the little pop of the mustard seed - would probably add a few more next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Fantastic recipe!! Like others have recommended, I used fresh minced garlic (2 cloves) instead of garlic powder, used 1 tsp of each lemon juice, vinegar and oil, and used 1 1/2 cups of sour cream with 1/2 cup of buttermilk (that I made myself with milk and vinegar). We only use this dressing when we have ceasar salad now....we never used store bought anymore. Thanks for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

How to Roast Garlic

Roast garlic in four easy steps for flavorful mashers, dips, and garlic toast.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States