Creamy Garlic Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This recipe was a great starting point for me. I didn't use MSG, steak sauce, or mustard seed, but I did use some ginger powder and a bit of honey. I'm giving this recipe 4-stars because I didn't follow the recipe exactly but the result still tasted like creamy garlic dressing. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
5 since the changes were very minor; I don't have MSG.....used Lowrys Season Salt which I do have on hand and contains MSG; the consistency is too thick for me (PLOPS on the salad.....I prefer mine to pour) so I just added some milk to thin to desired consistency. I was looking for a creamy dressing as I was making a grilled steak salad and the vinegarettes we had on hand didn't seem to fit the bill with the grilled steak.......the creamy garlic paired very well. I made it last minute and it was good.......I suspect it will be even better tomorrow after the flavors have time to age.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Really good! I followed the recipe exactly, down to the MSG. I think I would probably prefer this with fresh garlic, but it was als fine with powder. Loved the little pop of the mustard seed - would probably add a few more next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Fantastic recipe!! Like others have recommended, I used fresh minced garlic (2 cloves) instead of garlic powder, used 1 tsp of each lemon juice, vinegar and oil, and used 1 1/2 cups of sour cream with 1/2 cup of buttermilk (that I made myself with milk and vinegar). We only use this dressing when we have ceasar salad now....we never used store bought anymore. Thanks for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Peterson Kilday

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Super easy and very tasty! My husband was a huge fan of it over salad and especially as a dipping sauce for veggie sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Okay...too much work and I had to keep tweaking it to taste good...will not make again, sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shoppingbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
We loved this recipe, but make it without the MSG and mustard seed. Goes great with any salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
This has an amazing taste. One that would definitely "show up" in a salad. Not too much of any one flavor. Made it for a family lunch and it was a HUGE hit. I may try adding some parmesan or romano cheese, just a little. This is a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
After reading the reviews I was skeptical whether I would like this or not. I did like it. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neo
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
I decided to add 2 cloves of chopped garlic instead of powder for flavour. The end result was a very bitter dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Léah Fugère

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

How to Roast Garlic

Roast garlic in four easy steps for flavorful mashers, dips, and garlic toast.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States