Creamy Garlic Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
I have been making this recipe for about 3 years since I first found it on here, and it has never failed to be a huge success. On our ladies weekends at the beach, the standard request is that I double or triple the recipe in order for enough to go around. We like it best served with hot, fresh french bread or baquettes. Once I went to make it, thinking I had the recipe memorized--but indeed I didn't and accidently increased the garlic and peppers to 1 TB each, and everyone seemed to like it better, so I stuck with it. I also substitute light mayo and sour cream--no one notices! This is a staple in our house, and among our friends. If you're looking for something quick and simple, give this is a try. Despite some of the negative reviews on here, this recipe has been nothing but a success for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
I can't figure out all the comments about it tasting strong in garlic. I could hardly taste it. What I tasted was red pepper, which I thought was a bit hot and perhaps covering up the garlic flavor. So I made another sample, cutting the red pepper in half. It tasted like sour cream and I still couldn't taste much garlic. It shouldn't be called "garlic" dip if it takes a bunch of red pepper to make it taste like something. The vegies we had at Labor Day BBQ just wiped out any flavor this had (and 3 of us agreed). And yes, I refrigerated it overnight. Later I dumped more garlic powder in the leftovers and was just starting to taste it. I used the leftovers w/chips and that allowed me to taste the garlic a bit better. Not worth trying to fix this up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2003
I added this to my recipe box....Now I'm deleting it :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
Wow, you people are far too easily pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
This is terrific if you're a garlic lover, like myself! It does taste best after sitting in the refrigerator for a few hours atleast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMMSEJS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
Just made this for a Super Bowl party to serve with potato chips--and there wasn't one bit left! Contrary to other opinions, I didn't think the garlic flavor was overwhelming. I think the red pepper intensifies the garlic flavor. Next time, I might back off just a shade on the crushed red pepper. It doesn't make much--at a minimum, you'll need to double--probably triple for a "party sized" poortion. Make sure you refrigerate several hours or overnight, the flavors need to develop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
I made this dip but left out the red pepper. It was great, espescially if you let it refridgerate for about 24 hours. I made the beer bread recipe found here also, cut that up into bite size chuncks and dipped it in the dip! Everyone at my party loved and asked for the recipe. It is very strong-not ment for someone who dosn't like A LOT of garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
This was really great but definitely needed some time to sit before serving. I tasted it right after mixing and it tasted like just plain sourcream. 30 minutes later, it was really good. I had added more garlic powder (before it set) and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2002
i used this recipe for a food technology assignment at school and it was voted best dip in the class it tastes great and looks it too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
Huge hit at my house on Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Pumpkin Fluff Dip

This creamy vanilla-flavored pumpkin dip is super-easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States