Creamy Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2007
A***IMPORTANT - Before you make this or if you messed the recipe up - read here****I've included *my secrets* for making this frosting I have made this recipe for YEARS and am KNOWN for it! I've made it with a hand mixer and an old fashioned Sunbeam mixer. If you're looking for a recipe that's low in calories, carbs, or cholestrol - forget this one. Use this on Special Occasions! #1. Whole Milk perferred (2% may do - NEVER 1% or skim-don't waste your time). #2. Continually Whisk the milk/flour mixture over low/med heat until it's Really Thick (but don't burn the bottom). It should be difficult to whisk by the time it's done. It must COOL COMPLETELY. (I usually do this step right after I put the cake in the oven). #3. BUTTER PREFERRED (stick margarine may do (but butter tastes better) - NEVER use tub margarine-it'll never whip up and turn out slimmy). Butter must be ROOM TEMPERATURE (with a slight give when squeezed gently - leave out about 1 hour)(not melty like on an 80degree day)(It should not be 'softened' as the recipe states) #4. (mixers speeds vary adjust accordingly) I BEAT the butter/sugar at least 4 min. Add vanilla, beat 2 min. Add 1/2 TOTALLY COOLED milk/flour paste, beat 4 min. Add other 1/2 and beat 4 min. Plain box cake mixes taste wonderful when frosted with this recipe and sprinkled with crushed walnuts. If you can get the technique down - you're cupcakes and cakes will be the hit of the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
703 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
A 1/4 teaspoon of corn starch in with the flour/milk prior to cooking will help alleviate the lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
I have been making this recipe for years. I think some of these people should re-read the recipe. It does not say to melt the butter ~ just make sure it is at room temp. And I also suggest that the milk and flour mixture be pretty cool before adding to creamed mixture. Try it again you will love it. PS try using a tsp. of almond extract when frosting a chocolate cake. Its delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
This recipe tasted awesome! Love it! I halved the recipe for a batch of chocolate cupcakes, which was just enough for 18 cupcakes. But next time, I don't think I will half the recipe, because it was so good, I want to add a huge mound of icing on each cake. This was not too sweet and it had a great flavor. When I bake, I always "substitute" healthier ingredients. So I did use whole wheat pastry flour and sucanat with honey (which I ran through a coffee grinder, that has never had coffee in it, to get a finer sugar - closer to confectioners). This was great with the healthier substitutions. Will be making this again today and will try adding a twist with strawberries to get a strawberry icing. Hope it turns out just as good! ***UPDATE*** I did make this icing by adding strawberries, delish! I divided the icing into 3 parts, one part stayed the white vanilla (as the recipe), second part I whipped in 1 Tlb. of cocoa for chocolate icing, the third part, I added about 1-2 Tlb. of pureed strawberries (strawberries had sugar on them, left over from shortcake). Then I iced cupcakes and had 3 different icings. These were great! BTW - this recipe "Simple White Cake" from this site makes excellent white cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2002
I was really disappointed with this recipe. I definitely do NOT recommend it to anyone who does not have a stand mixer- I have one, and finally had to turn it off because I thought it would overheat. If I had to stand there with a hand held mixer, I would have given up much sooner. I mixed & mixed & it still did not all come together. It looks curdled to begin with, which is normal, but after 20 minutes of mixing, it still looked a little curdled and the sugar had not dissolved. As far as lumpy flour other people mentioned, you really need to stir constantly as it thickens. I did not have any problem with that at all. Also, this is not nice and cream colored- it is definitely yellow, with the butter and vanilla. I was hoping it would look lighter upon beating. I finally had to give up on this. I have very little time to find a new recipe now to frost my friend's birthday cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owego, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
Great if you are in a pinch with no powdered sugar! I have never made frosting before, and needed some for kid's cupcakes, very easy to make! I did cheat a little by cooling the milk/flour after thickening in the fridge, and it didn't affect it at all- good yeild amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
At first I was kinda shaky about it, but once I made it, it really did look like whipped cream. And my grandmother, who's always looking for a good frosting recipe, LOVED it. Used it to frost a red velvet cake...complimented it very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by C.Marionette
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
Delicious. Exactly what I was looking for. Incredibly thick, but with a light taste which melts in your mouth. If you want the perfect piping icing, I recommend this recipe! You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C.Marionette

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
this is a great recipe. You need to let the milk and flour mixture set about an hour or two also it is easy if you have your butter at room temp. I will use this recipe forever thanks. Also this is good for those people who don't like frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buena Vista, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
it turned out wrong. DO NOT MELT THE BUTTER! It will turn out looking like goat cheese mixed with a clear, stickey goo. It tastes ok but it looks bad... Do not spred on to cake or whatever it is u are baking cause it looks nasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 357) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States