Creamy Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Love this frosting! It is so good and you can"t tell it has flour in it. It almost has a whipped cream consistancy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Did a wedding cake and cupcakes with this frosting used alittle more vanilla but it was wonderful.easy to pipe and tasted beautiful on choc mud and white choc cakes will use again and had lots ask for recipe for this frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
I have tried this recipe twice and it has not come out good. I don't think that I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
We used this recipe to frost my DH's birthday cake. It was very time consuming to make. Had to make 2 batches for a 9" two layer cake. Even though I followed the directions and more tips from my sister, the cake decorator, the first batch was very grainy. Used the suggestion from another reviewer of adding the sugar to the milk/flour and it came out much more creamy. It was difficult to use for piping on the cake because it was so soft but tasted good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dottie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
This is the same recipe that I got from my mother for what we call Bakers Frosting. It's SOOO good! Light and not too sweet like the grocery store frosting that you get when you buy a cake - you know - the kind that feels like your tongue is coated with shortening! I've used this also to make filled cupcakes. You can also use 2 T. of cornstarch in your milk instead of flour. I cover the bowl then with waxed paper to cool it. Keeps it from getting a film on top. The thing with this frosting is you really have to beat the sugar and butter a long time! For the ones who complain that it's not white - try using the Wilton clear vanilla instead of regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Verona, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Love this frosting! The kids thought it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
This frosting was amazing. I was in the mood to bake and i didnt have any powdered sugar. This was so good. I did however add peanut butter to it. It was a delicious topper to my white cake with chocolate chips cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Good!! I'm still a LITTLE on the fence with this one though... there's no doubt that it's a good frosting, but it doesn't have much flavor. Basically if you pair it with a cake with lots of flavor, it's perfect... but if you are hoping to get sweetness from the frosting, this might not be the best choice. It is very mild, not too sweet at all. Really unique frosting though and it's SO SOFT! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I found this recipe while looking for a butter cream that is not grainy, I have followed many recipes and I always get a "toothpaste" like texture. I have to say that this was fabulous!! I did add my own "tweak" to it. I added the sugar to the milk/flour mixture and increased the flour by 2 Tablespoons. Let the mixture cool completely. Beat the butter and flavoring for 4 minutes, added half the cooled "batter" and beat for another 4 minutes. Added the remaining flour/milk /batter and beat again for 4 minutes. Very smooth, very fluffy. NOT GRAINY to my amazement!!!! I will use this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This is the best frosting I have ever tasted! I hate most frostings because they're grainy and far too sweet. This was incredibly smooth and had a full, but not overwhelming, flavor. It'd make a great base for flavored frostings also. This is the only frosting recipe I will ever use again. It's amazing and I love it! I guess I should mention that I used a blend of whole flour and unbleached all-purpose. It didn't seem to affect the flavor or texture. Also, after reading a number of reviews I decided to do half granulated and half confectioners' sugar, as I had no caster sugar, and ground the granules down as I creamed the butter mixture. The butter I used was unsalted, my vanilla was pure rather than imitation, and the milk was whole. I hope that helps. I'm glad this recipe is so forgiving considering some of my more unusual ingredients. I can't say enough just how well it came out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Patern

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 357) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States