Creamy Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I wanted to my mum some cupcakes yesterday evening, but realised I was all out of icing sugar and as it was after 4, shops was closed. so I found this recipe. I was a bit unsure at first but I decided to go for it. for all of you saying this recipe didn't work, you are obviously doing something wrong because I loved it. I used granuled sugar and 1% milk but it didn't affect the taste at all. I even added cocoa powder to make it chocolate and that working. It was just like whipped cream, soft and delicious. like heaven on a chocolate cupcake! my mum loved them. this had def been added to my recipe book. thankyou for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Needed some homemade frosting for a box-mix cake and found this. Easy to make and tastes great. I had no problem frosting a two layer yellow cake with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Easy to make just added some vanilla pudding mix and it taste like French Vanilla Icing will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Loved this recipe...only gets 4 stars because I wish one batch made more. It is so light and airy with just a hint of sweet. I actually added almond extract with 1/2 a tsp of vanilla...yummo!For beginner bakers here's a hint or two: 1) cool the milk and flour completely 2) cream the butter and sugar until smooth and fluffy-this means you will have to scrape your mixer several times. Perf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I didn't like this recipe. I'm a huge review reader. i read several reviews and decided to try this frosting. I won't be using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doxielvr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This frosting in a nutshell is...meh. I followed Justme's directions and the consistency was decent. You do need to be patient and having a kitchen aid mixer was definitely helpful. I covered a 2 layer cake and I had a hard time making it look good because the consistency wasn't working well. I can see why some people said this works better if you pipe it on cupcakes. The cake would've looked much better if I piped stars (or the like) all around it. As for taste, it's very butter-tasting. I even added some more milk and powdered sugar, but that didn't change it. I decided to use this because my family doesn't like sugary frosting and this recipe is definitely NOT super sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Light, fluffy, creamy and dreamy. Topped my pumpkin cake with this and it was perfect. A+. This is my new go to frosting, screw store bought canned stuff. I will never buy canned frosting again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat Bevins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Not sure why other had problems, light creamy texture and good flavor. I used 2% milk and butter (not margarine). Just be sure to beat the butter and sugar thoroughly and that the milk mixture is completely cool before adding. I did have to beat it for about 5 minutes after adding the milk mixture to make sure the sugar was completely dissolved, but the texture was great! Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
It was way too buttery and lacked flavor. It just tasted kind of greasy in my opinion and although the texture was very light and fluffy to work with, eating it was a very different story. I followed the recipe to a T but it just was not something I could use or would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
TERRIBLE! it didn't turn out well AT ALL! my end result was a yellow gooey water like paste that tasted disgusting and wouldn't thicken! DO NOT TRY THIS RECIPE!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 386) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States