Creamy Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I was very disappointed with this recipe. I expected it to be good. In reality, it tasted like a stick of butter with sugar in it. Disgusting. It definitely was not worth all the time it took, with boiling the milk and beating forever to get the sugar crystals out. This is the first negative review I've given a recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarah
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
It takes some time but really worth it and wayyyy better than any can frosting out there. I was in a pinch i never made frosting from scratch but i didnt have any cans of frosting and i wanted to make cupcakes for my hunny for valentines day. Unless im pressed for time i will never use canned frosting again, i love this recip, its soooo good. Also i added a few tablespoons of french vanilla instand pudding mix into the frosting and yumm! Thank u!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I first made it on a horribly hot, humid day and didn't cream the butter and sugar together until the crystals were very small. I ended up beating it for over 1/2 an hour! (My mixer at the time was a wimp.) Since then I have learned to cook the milk and flour until it is stiff, make sure the butter is room temperature and cream it with the sugar for a good while, then add the paste. If I do all this, it mixes quickly, even in the humid Mississippi summers! This is our favorite recipe, so good you want to eat it plain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Tastes like I frosted my cake with a stick of butter...not my taste in frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
This is amazing when prepared as written, but you can change the flavors to suit your tastes. The kids prefer vanilla, but the adults like when I substituted the vanilla with almond extract and then topped it with toasted coconut. Mmmmmmm. I'll never use another recipe for frosting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This frosting never did get thick enough to use, it just seperated and was very liquid. I finally added alot of powdered sugar and beat it until I could finally use it. I kept reading the recipe over thinking I forgot something but didn't. I will not use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
So it looks like an average butter cream frosting. tastes a bit softer and I can't tell the sugar grains- I used icing sugar and not regular sugar. However, I added more sugar as I could taste the butter- was definitely not sweet enough. Again, not sure if its worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. It promised whip cream like consistency and turned out like a glaze. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
This recipe is so delicious. I added a bit of lemon juice because I was putting it on a white cake and I wanted some refreshing flavor on it. If you have a Kitchen Aid mixer it is a breeze to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Caledonia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States