Creamy Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Light, fluffy, creamy and dreamy. Topped my pumpkin cake with this and it was perfect. A+. This is my new go to frosting, screw store bought canned stuff. I will never buy canned frosting again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Not sure why other had problems, light creamy texture and good flavor. I used 2% milk and butter (not margarine). Just be sure to beat the butter and sugar thoroughly and that the milk mixture is completely cool before adding. I did have to beat it for about 5 minutes after adding the milk mixture to make sure the sugar was completely dissolved, but the texture was great! Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
It was way too buttery and lacked flavor. It just tasted kind of greasy in my opinion and although the texture was very light and fluffy to work with, eating it was a very different story. I followed the recipe to a T but it just was not something I could use or would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
TERRIBLE! it didn't turn out well AT ALL! my end result was a yellow gooey water like paste that tasted disgusting and wouldn't thicken! DO NOT TRY THIS RECIPE!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Excellent recipe! The comments about needing to make sure the butter was room temperature before beating(and not to melt it) and to keep whisking the milk and flour combination while cooking were spot on. And the milk/flour combo does need to be room temp before beating it all together. Nice and fluffy and sweet; my daughter told me that we'll be using this on all our cakes now instead of the store bought stuff:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
This is a great recipe! Reading the reviews, I chilled my flour-milk mixture, but first added the sugar and stirred it in. This was a great tip because it absolutely eliminated graininess. I did add an extra half-cup of sugar, and flavored it with peppermint flavoring rather than vanilla. We tinted it green and put it on dark-chocolate cupcakes, and they were FABULOUS! So much tastier than our usual powdered-sugar buttercream, fluffier and lighter tasting, sweet but perfectly sweet, really. I've been baking and frosting cakes for fifty years, and I have finally found the perfect frosting recipe! LOVE THIS RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
If you didnt read the recipe and added hot milk and it melted, like me, put it into the fridge until its cold and whip and then put it in the fridge longer and whip again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
So glad I tried this! I made my stepdaughter's cupcakes last year with swiss buttercream and she WILL NOT let me forget she doesn't like the not sweet frosting! I was hoping to find something between swiss and regular buttercream and this fit the bill. She loved it andI don't think it's cloyingly sweet. I didn't think it would be good for decorating, but it held up well. I made a few roses to test it out and they've held up well. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
I have made this twice both times it came out nice and fluffy . I added 3 heaping tablespoons of coco and half teaspoon of almond extract. I will use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I was so tired of the same old buttercream frosting. I am so happy that I found this recipe. Follow the directions and you will have a beautiful and delicious frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 360) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States