Creamy Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Yummy! I love whipped cream frosting and this fit the bill. It was also easy enough for my 12 yo daughter to make on her own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This was the best frosting I've ever had. I'm not big on too sweet icings and this just melts in your mouth without being overly sweet and it does have the consistency of whipped cream. Wonder if chocolate can be added somehow. Any ideas?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Made sure to really chill the milk/flour. Super simple tasted pretty good and had a fluffy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Nelson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I have tried to make frosting three other times and they all turned out horrible. This recipe, however, was the first time that my homemade frosting was actually good. It didn't taste better than store bought frosting, but it was still delicious. I will definitely be working on this recipe though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Easy and surprisingly delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lausanne, Vaud, Switzerland
Living In: Hannover, Niedersachsen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Made it last night. Absolutely perfect. Definitely saving as a winner, especially because I generally don't keep confectioner's sugar in the house - and with this recipe, who needs it? The whole milk and flour thickened quickly over high heat (stirring constantly), and cooled quickly sitting on my air conditioner vent (I'm sure fridge would have equally sufficed). I softened the butter first by sitting it (in its paper) on the hot stove that was baking the cake - this made a mess, so I plopped the butter (no paper) in the mixing bowl and microwaved for 15-20 seconds. Creamed butter, sugar and vanilla all together using the electric hand mixer for about 6-7 mins total (kept having to stop to tend to other food preparations). Added cold flour/milk mixture in halves, mixing for 3-4 mins each time per JustMe's direction. The extra mixing seems long, but it does make the icing lighter, fluffier, yummier. And wow - the icing was amazingly perfect and was more than enough for the chocolate cake I'd baked in a 13x9" pan - have about 1 cup leftover; we'll see how it holds up in the fridge and can be used for something else... Yum! Thanks for a perfect white icing with no confectioners sugar mess, Carol!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Persson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I am 14 years old and this was super easy, my little sis said it was the best icing she had ever had! For those who said it didnt work... well as long as you follow the recipe, it should work fine!Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
I used it for a chocolate cake i made... it didn't turn out right. The texture is off and the flavoring is to buttery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ethan Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I literally just made this recipe. I didn't read it properly, and although the recipe is vague it still came out tasting great!. Mine came out more like a glaze, but I now know what TO do and what NOT to do. 1. Definitely make sure the butter and sugar are whipped well. It's possible you just have to moved quickly and be patient (switch hands if you must) Trust me I can beat egg yolk and sugar into a thick custard like form with a fork so beating sugar and butter into a whip is just simple, but demands a lot of patience. 2. You have to watch the milk ad flour carefully mix it well and I can make mine on medium high heat. It should be super thick and nearly hard to stir and then you still have to let it cool. Honestly I'd say give it a good 8-15 minutes. Then whip it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
i was looking for a frosting that didnt have powdered sugar in it and came across this one...OMG! This is absolutely wonderful....for those of you whose didnt turn out...FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS!!!! I did use tub margarine and a hand mixer....turned out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States