Creamy Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I thought this was great! I made sure I really took my time with each step, especially the flour and milk to get a nice smooth creamy thick base. I actually used 1% milk and it turned out fine. I came across this recipe because I made a cake and then realized I was out of confectioners sugar. I may just use this instead next time, lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I loved this recipe and thought it was fairly simple to understand and work with. can't wait to see how I can add different flavors to it for some of my themed cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daizygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brodhead, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I made this recipe today. Great results! You do have to mix the butter/sugar with the milk/flour for about 10 minutes on high. Well worth the wait. I substituted lemon zest and juice for vanilla. Just what I was looking for with no powdered sugar in the cupboard. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
So easy! Nice, smooth texture. I live overseas and it is hard to get ingredients because there are shortages. This is the first time I've made icing without powdered sugar. I added cocoa powder and coffee extract to go with the cake I was making. I just added extra milk to offset the extra dryness. Don't over-cook the milk/flour or it can leave lumps. (Though after I frosted the cake and let it sit for a bit, I no longer saw lumps.) Thanks!!! (BTW, prefer the vanilla version but the chocolate went with my cake)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
No tips or tricks needed - frosting was great even with fat free milk. My only complaint is that it really wasn't enough for a two layer cake as stated, so I made a filling for the cake to make up the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Looked like frosting but didn't taste much like frosting. The texture looked nice and fluffy, but it just tasted like eating whipped butter and was greasy in my mouth. Followed the instructions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I liked this, but I honestly made a lot of changes to it. After reading reviews I adjusted a few things: 1/2C butter and 1/2C cream cheese (or neufchatel) instead of 1C butter. 2/3C 2% milk with 1/3C half and half. Constant stirring while thickening milk-flour mixture, then cooled in the fridge for 30 min. Mix the milk-flour into the whipped butter mixture, half the total amount at a time, beating for several minutes each time. I added 1/3C cocoa powder to make mine a chocolate cream frosting. I also doubled the vanilla extract. This is not thick like the picture, but it is creamy, and not at all soupy as some reviewers had issues with. It stood up nicely on my cupcakes, but it should be refrigerated for best results (especially since I used cream cheese). Overall, I would use this again in a pinch, but I will not be my go-to frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
i made it today n it turn out really ausome , i must suggest to those who hv flour flavour in it , you have to cook milk n flour on very slow heat so that you can cook the flour n i cconstantly keep stirring n taste it until i donot taste the flour :) so cool it down completely n i infact use salted butter but still the taste is veryyy good ,btw i add i table spoon of cornflour as well but i think it will be as good with only corn flour as well bcz it just like the vanilla custard you make for some recepies. so will again try obviously n for those who taste flour keep stirring n very slow heat n cook till you dnt taste flour :) happy baking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly, and came out great. I did have a stand mixer. Used this on cookies for Valentine's, and it worked well, although it's obviously not a normal cookie frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
First time for me, it turned out GREAT !! I followed the directions and have no complaints. Will be making again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puddens Husband

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 341) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States