Creamy Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Okay, so this recipe was AMAZING. I ended up getting a frosting with a pudding like consistency which is real different than typical frostings and far better than store bought ones. This was a real simple and easy recipe and wasn't too sweet and tasted so real like not artificial like store bought frosting.If you're looking for a simple and different frosting that's not overly sweet and takes you home, this is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Love it! I am not remotely talented in the culinary sense and I nailed this. I chose this recipe because it looked simple and I had all the ingredients. I left the butter on the counter for a couple of hours. It wasn't completely softened, but had a slight give when squeezing. I used a combination of whipping cream and 1/2 & 1/2 instead of milk. I used a $10 mixer I picked up at the grocery store. I don't understand the other reviewers who had a problem with this recipe. I think an 8 year old could probably out-cook me and if *I* pulled this recipe off without a hitch, then anyone can. I only wonder if a chocolate or cream cheese version of this icing is possible?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana M. Silvia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I didn't have any powdered sugar in the house & stumbled upon this. The only change I made was to add a little peanut butter. Delicious, light, & gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Amazing recipe! Couldn't see how it would work but it does. For those who found it runny or curdled, that is either down to not using enough flour or not letting it thicken enough-mine was so thick I could barely stir it! As far as it being yellow, it just needs to be whipped for longer until it turns a pale creamy colour. I think the key is creaming the butter and sugar well before adding the batter-it comes together really quickly if you do that. Definitely worth having another go if it didn't work the first time-it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine Atkin-Nash

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
This is similar to a recipe my grandmother made for years to go on "red cake" (red velvet, this is the only frosting that should be put on red velvet, cream cheese is good for strawberry or carrot cakes but terrible on red cake). My grandmothers version uses 2T cornstarch instead of flour, and powdered sugar instead of granulated. I have never had it turn out runny like some reviews here. Make sure that the milk mixture is THICK, my daughter describes it as being like pudding. Then make sure it's cool (room temp) along with room temp butter and you are good. This frosting is easy once you get the hang of it and sooo much better then the over sweet store bought stuff. It also stays creamy instead of getting crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tash

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Great Recipe Could be a tad sweeter. As others have said, WHISK, COMPLETELY COOLED, and BEAT WELL. One question, any tips on how would you store leftovers?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Just made this according to Just me's review, even used an old sunbeam hand mixer, and it came out decadent! Best frosting I've ever tasted! Highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I made this recipe and it is absolutely delicious....the cream is light and fluffy....highly recommend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
This was the worst soupy mess I've ever made. Don't waste your time and ingredients on this frosting. Big disappointment. Does not deserve one star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by melodykenyon
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
It tasted like vanilla pudding to me but really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 368) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States