Creamy Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Love this recipie not too sweet. Tip to avoid those pesky lumps is stir the thickened milk periodically as it cools. And it helps the milk cool faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
Honestly, this recipe is disgusting. I would never EVER recommend it to anyone. It came out lumpy and soupy, even though I followed the recipe exactly. I mixed and I mixed, but it didn't help at all. Even tried adding cornstarch to make it thicker--didn't help. At that point I decided to throw it away. But before I did, I tasted it. HORRIBLE! All I tasted was butter and sugar. It had a grainy texture from the sugar and there were little flour/milk lumps everywhere that had nasty effects on the so called "frosting". Also, this was not white. Nor was it cream. It was flat out YELLOW. Definitely a waste of anyone's time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
This is lovely frosting! light and creamy, i mixed it by hand and still came out perfect! i would just say made sure everything has cooled down to room temp before mixing together, and whisk continuously the flour and milk while its thickening. Also mix sugar and butter very well, as much as you can! then whip them both up its perfect. If you refrigerate it for half an hour or more it hardens and easier to pipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Aguirre Burton

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
It wouldn't mix together and it was just flop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zaida Jenkins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
I think it tasted good but I don't know where I went wrong. Maybe I didn't let the milk mixture cool enough because when I added it and mixed it with the other ingredients it has a watery consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Rodrigues

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
The texture is great, easy to work with but I found the taste a bit too buttery and not sweet enough. I'm sure that there is a better frosting recipe out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi Beauchamp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
iused the recipe as is and it came out fine the sugar was dissolved fully after i added the paste. my butter was melted a little bit and the flour mixture was still warm after i added it which made it nice and fluffy. for this frosting i do recommend putting liquid colouring instead of gel colouring as it will look weird
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Sooooo yummy! First time I have made cooked frosting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eliot, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
This saved me in a bind (no powdered sugar). Was completely delighted with the texture and the taste. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 386) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States