Creamy Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Very good!! Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I can't give this recipe more than 3 stars. I halved the recipe since I made cupcakes. I followed the recipe to a "t" but the frosting just tasted too much like sweet, fluffy butter. It wasn't terrible but I will probable never make this again. I'll wait until I have confectioner's sugar to make real icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabrina Williams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Amazing! Perfect! So Versatile! I've been using it for a while now and haven't found a fault yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Tried make gluten-free and vegan... results were "interesting." LOL But not inedible and definitely NOT the recipe's fault! Was snowed in and made carrot cake before I realized I didn't have confectioner's sugar. Google brought me here! I had low expectations for the GF/V versions so I halved the recipe. I substituted the wheat flour for tapioca starch, having subbed that successfully in other recipes. I made the paste and walked my dog while it cooled, then came back to finish this insane experiment. Used pure/solid coconut oil instead of butter, which works beautifully in vegan buttercream. I think the lack of protein in the oil made it more runny than it should've been. Similarly, the tapioca did not give it quite as much structure as I think wheat flour would have. I creamed the coconut oil and plain white sugar for ages, and the sugar wasn't breaking down; I got impatient and decided to go ahead and see what kind of disaster would result from trying to finish. To my surprise, when I added the tapioca goo, the sugar started to break down. The end result was shockingly edible. DEFINITELY NOT my ideal cake icing, but not bad for a "snowmergency." The icing is kind of thin, oily, and slightly runny, but better than I expected, LOL. It'll likely firm up if I refrigerate the cake though, which I'll probably try out. What a fun experiment. I probably won't make this recipe again due to dietary constraints, but I wonder how it would've been with some protein powder...?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HealthFoodPlease
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
It was terrible and came out nothing like it said it would. It was thick but not like frosting! Wouldn't recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade Vidal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I used coconut milk instead of milk - amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Okay, so this recipe was AMAZING. I ended up getting a frosting with a pudding like consistency which is real different than typical frostings and far better than store bought ones. This was a real simple and easy recipe and wasn't too sweet and tasted so real like not artificial like store bought frosting.If you're looking for a simple and different frosting that's not overly sweet and takes you home, this is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Love it! I am not remotely talented in the culinary sense and I nailed this. I chose this recipe because it looked simple and I had all the ingredients. I left the butter on the counter for a couple of hours. It wasn't completely softened, but had a slight give when squeezing. I used a combination of whipping cream and 1/2 & 1/2 instead of milk. I used a $10 mixer I picked up at the grocery store. I don't understand the other reviewers who had a problem with this recipe. I think an 8 year old could probably out-cook me and if *I* pulled this recipe off without a hitch, then anyone can. I only wonder if a chocolate or cream cheese version of this icing is possible?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana M. Silvia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I didn't have any powdered sugar in the house & stumbled upon this. The only change I made was to add a little peanut butter. Delicious, light, & gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Amazing recipe! Couldn't see how it would work but it does. For those who found it runny or curdled, that is either down to not using enough flour or not letting it thicken enough-mine was so thick I could barely stir it! As far as it being yellow, it just needs to be whipped for longer until it turns a pale creamy colour. I think the key is creaming the butter and sugar well before adding the batter-it comes together really quickly if you do that. Definitely worth having another go if it didn't work the first time-it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine Atkin-Nash

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States