Creamy Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Amazing recipe! Couldn't see how it would work but it does. For those who found it runny or curdled, that is either down to not using enough flour or not letting it thicken enough-mine was so thick I could barely stir it! As far as it being yellow, it just needs to be whipped for longer until it turns a pale creamy colour. I think the key is creaming the butter and sugar well before adding the batter-it comes together really quickly if you do that. Definitely worth having another go if it didn't work the first time-it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine Atkin-Nash

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
This is similar to a recipe my grandmother made for years to go on "red cake" (red velvet, this is the only frosting that should be put on red velvet, cream cheese is good for strawberry or carrot cakes but terrible on red cake). My grandmothers version uses 2T cornstarch instead of flour, and powdered sugar instead of granulated. I have never had it turn out runny like some reviews here. Make sure that the milk mixture is THICK, my daughter describes it as being like pudding. Then make sure it's cool (room temp) along with room temp butter and you are good. This frosting is easy once you get the hang of it and sooo much better then the over sweet store bought stuff. It also stays creamy instead of getting crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tash

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Great Recipe Could be a tad sweeter. As others have said, WHISK, COMPLETELY COOLED, and BEAT WELL. One question, any tips on how would you store leftovers?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Just made this according to Just me's review, even used an old sunbeam hand mixer, and it came out decadent! Best frosting I've ever tasted! Highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I made this recipe and it is absolutely delicious....the cream is light and fluffy....highly recommend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
This was the worst soupy mess I've ever made. Don't waste your time and ingredients on this frosting. Big disappointment. Does not deserve one star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by melodykenyon
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
It tasted like vanilla pudding to me but really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
My friend slept over one night and we had a bake sale the next morning for school so we decided to make cupcakes. I picked this recipe because it was the first result, and it looked delicious. I didn't use food coloring, but it was an amazing hit! When we first started mixing it, it looked like a brown egg yolk..we thought we messed up. But I didn't want to completely scrap it so I just let it keep beating, and oh my gosh was I right. It started to whip after 5-7 minutes, it got fluffy, white and big. Not to mention it tasted DELICIOUS. I put it in a normal plastic bag, cut the end off and we squeezed nice swirls on the cupcakes, they looked amazing, and tasted even better. It literally melts in your mouth, and it's not rich, its so light and fluffy. I use it whenever I'm looking for a sweet tooth, which is why I'm on it now, going to make a few to satisfy my cupcake desires :) Would definitely recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
If you follow Justme's helpful hints at the beginning of the reviews it comes out wonderfully. I even adjusted the recipe because I only have unsweetened almond milk in the fridge so I used 3/4 cup almond milk and then finished it with 1/4 cup half and half and it still turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Do you use powdered sugar or granulated sugar?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States