Creamy Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
It will not thicken is a messy bowl of watery ick don't waste your ingredients!! It sucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Sooooo yummy! First time I have made cooked frosting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eliot, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
This saved me in a bind (no powdered sugar). Was completely delighted with the texture and the taste. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Worked out great until I put the milk in. It wouldn't blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HILLY29
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
What an awesome recipe!This came out great and I had no problems whatsoever. I doubled the recipe for frosting cupcakes because I go kind of high with the cupcake frosting. I made this more like a roux and added two tablespoons of butter to the flour. A helpful hint and a fail safe when making a roux, add flour to the pan first, then butter and whisk together until smooth over low to just med heat, then add the milk a little at a time and all the while stir, stir, stir using a whisk. It's tedious I know, but if you want a smooth frosting then you have to put a little effort into it, this helps to avoid the lumpiness that I have read from the disappointed reviews. Also, DO NOT and I mean DO NOT add to the butter mixture until completely cooled. Butter, hot roux..not a good combo. The helpful hints from the most positive review are also spot on. I didn't notice it until I sat down to write my review and all I can say is "Ditto!" This is a great lighter taste to a straight butter cream frosting, not lighter in calories, but lighter in taste. Since I doubled the recipe, I added a tsp of vanilla extract and a tsp of vanilla bean paste. So happy I found this recipe, I even posted a pic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellaire, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Very good!! Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I halved the recipe since I made cupcakes. The frosting just tasted too much like sweet, fluffy butter. It wasn't terrible but I will probable never make this again. I'll wait until I have confectioner's sugar to make real icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabrina Williams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Amazing! Perfect! So Versatile! I've been using it for a while now and haven't found a fault yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Tried make gluten-free and vegan... results were "interesting." LOL But not inedible and definitely NOT the recipe's fault! Was snowed in and made carrot cake before I realized I didn't have confectioner's sugar. Google brought me here! I had low expectations for the GF/V versions so I halved the recipe. I substituted the wheat flour for tapioca starch, having subbed that successfully in other recipes. I made the paste and walked my dog while it cooled, then came back to finish this insane experiment. Used pure/solid coconut oil instead of butter, which works beautifully in vegan buttercream. I think the lack of protein in the oil made it more runny than it should've been. Similarly, the tapioca did not give it quite as much structure as I think wheat flour would have. I creamed the coconut oil and plain white sugar for ages, and the sugar wasn't breaking down; I got impatient and decided to go ahead and see what kind of disaster would result from trying to finish. To my surprise, when I added the tapioca goo, the sugar started to break down. The end result was shockingly edible. DEFINITELY NOT my ideal cake icing, but not bad for a "snowmergency." The icing is kind of thin, oily, and slightly runny, but better than I expected, LOL. It'll likely firm up if I refrigerate the cake though, which I'll probably try out. What a fun experiment. I probably won't make this recipe again due to dietary constraints, but I wonder how it would've been with some protein powder...?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HealthFoodPlease
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
It was thick but not like frosting! Wouldn't recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade Vidal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 379) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States