Creamy Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2015
At first, it was going great. No lumpy flour/milk mixture, butter and sugar creamed nicely. When I mixed the two, it looked kind of curdled, which I read was normal from other reviews, so I tried to push through. I mixed and mixed for over 20 minutes with no improvement and the taste was terrible. I'd rather go to the store and buy frosting out of the can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
Fun fact it helps to put your bowl and whisk attachment in the freezer before you make it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
I was given this recipe many years ago by my grandmother as a topping for our family favourite chocolate cake recipe. The funny thing is that I never had the instructions to cook the milk and flour. I always just threw all the ingredients in a bowl and whipped it until it was creamy. It always turned out great that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
It was not thick enough and it tasted like to much sugar!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
I don't know what other folks are saying about it being clumpy, soupy, and gooey, but I will NEVER buy a frosting in the store again! Everyone in my family loved this recipe. I halfed my recipe and changed it up a bit after I found another way of doing on youtube. First I put the milk and flour in the pot and began whisking AS SOON as i turned the heat on. I kept stirring quickly and never got any clumps, because i kept WHISKING. I had it on medium- high heat. I let it get thick and let it sit for about an hour. When it's cooled, it looks like a clump, but that's ok. I then put vanilla in the COMPLETELY COOLED flour/ milk concoction, i beat it for about 5 minutes with an electric mixture. When you do this, it gets really smooth again. Then i took the SOFTENED butter at room temp and i beat it with the sugar in another bowl. I beat it for about 10 minutes. It is important to beat it till it is REALLY FLUFFY AND WHITE. When the butter sugar is creamed till it's white and fluffy, then it's ready. Next, I put the butter sugar in the whipped up milk/ flour mixture. I beat for about 5-7 minutes until it is light and fluffy AND BOY.. IT WAS DELICIOUS! The sugar grains dissolved on their own!I put it on my vanilla cupcakes. It tastes like sweetened whipped cream, but BETTER! If you follow directions and HAVE PATIENCE, this will come out right.Most people that screw up probably did not take their time and was rushing it. Or even worse, the butter and sugar was NOT mixed properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah O
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
This is seriously the best frosting ever. My family is super picky about frostings and doesn't care for classic buttercream at all but they go nuts over this frosting. I usually use 1 1/2 cups cream instead of milk and 4 tbsp flour because I find this makes it fluffier (milk still usually works fine, but cream is just a little bit superior). I've made a butterscotch cupcake with this and used brown sugar instead of granulated sugar and it worked amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
Perfect! I used a gluten-free all purpose flour (XO Baking Co. brand for convenience, but you can also make your own). It came out very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Tried this recipe and the result was delightful. Just signed up to all recipes and I can't wait fpr ore recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Needed frosting but had no powdered sugar. This was a pleasant substitute. I used coffee liqueur ( kahlua) as we had no vanilla either :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhymeswith16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Love this recipie not too sweet. Tip to avoid those pesky lumps is stir the thickened milk periodically as it cools. And it helps the milk cool faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 395) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States