Creamy Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
I made some modifications to this recipe, instead of milk I used baileys (because I was out of milk, the last of it was used in the cake) which gave it some nice flavour and I used brown sugar instead of white granulated sugar. I skipped the vanilla cuz I was out of it but I didn't miss it and I decided that I didn't need the flour so that was omitted as well. Kept the measurements the same and just whipped the mixture in the stand-alone mixer until the sugar particles disappeared and it got to the texture/consistency I desired which was smooth and nice! Absolutely loved my baileys irish buttercream frosting! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy Jaz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
Thank you for sharing Ms. Carol; light fluffy butter plus milky sweetness, best of both worlds! I tried 1/2 the recipe and full; both came out wonderfully (using granulated sugar, 2% milk, +50% flour (3 tablespoons instead of 2) and hand-mixer). A few changes I made in steps: 1. Used microwave to make milk/flour mixture: Put milk and flour in thick small microwavable glass bowl and mix till you can't see flour (less than 30 sec). Microwave till bubbles coming out from the edge (1-2 min, depends on amount and temperature of milk) > quickly take out > smooth out with mixer > scrape down on the side very well – repeat this process but microwave shorter each time to avoid lumpiness. Once done, smooth out with mixer so it'll also help cooling down fast but still warm at this point. Scrape down inside and put aside. 2. Beat about 2/3 of sugar in room temp butter: When you finish making butter/sugar/vanilla mixture (beat at least 4 min - the bottom of the bowl becoming strangely visible, still grainy), mix the rest (1/3) of sugar in milk mixture till very smooth, shiny, and looks a little sticky. If still warmer than room temp, put in refrigerator for a few min. Beat all together for 4 min, scrape down well on the side then another 2 min with hand-mixer - completely smooth texture (not grainy at all). Refrigerated leftover can be used easily – bring it to room temp and beat into fresh batch of frosting until smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
I made this as frosting when I ran out of powdered sugar. This is quite yummy, so long as you make absolutely certain that 1. your butter is not melted! It just has to be softened to room temp and 2. your thickened milk is completely cooled. When I first made it, I melted the butter in the microwave, and the milk was still warm. Result was soup. I put soup in the fridge til it thickened, and whipped it. It was great. Next time, I used cool ingredients, and had no problems :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
I tried making with eggless cupcakes, and my cupcakes turned out great. I loved this recipe. At first when I added the thickened milk, my perfectly smooth, frosting-like mixture turned all soupy. When I beat it some more, it turned out to be a little better, but at the end I still had to add more sugar, and scrape up all the extra butter and sugar I had. When I finished making it, it was creamy but still too thin. After frosted on the cupcake, I tasted it, and it tasted badly like butter. I followed the recipe exactly, but it still tasted buttery. Luckily, the extra sugar made it a little better but I wouln’t reccomend this to picky families. It was OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
I did not care for this recipe. At first, it was going great. No lumpy flour/milk mixture, butter and sugar creamed nicely. When I mixed the two, it looked kind of curdled, which I read was normal from other reviews, so I tried to push through. I mixed and mixed for over 20 minutes with no improvement. I didn't care for the flavor, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
Fun fact it helps to put your bowl and whisk attachment in the freezer before you make it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
I was given this recipe many years ago by my grandmother as a topping for our family favourite chocolate cake recipe. The funny thing is that I never had the instructions to cook the milk and flour. I always just threw all the ingredients in a bowl and whipped it until it was creamy. It always turned out great that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
It was not thick enough and it tasted like to much sugar!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
I don't know what other folks are saying about it being clumpy, soupy, and gooey, but I will NEVER buy a frosting in the store again! Everyone in my family loved this recipe. I halfed my recipe and changed it up a bit after I found another way of doing on youtube. First I put the milk and flour in the pot and began whisking AS SOON as i turned the heat on. I kept stirring quickly and never got any clumps, because i kept WHISKING. I had it on medium- high heat. I let it get thick and let it sit for about an hour. When it's cooled, it looks like a clump, but that's ok. I then put vanilla in the COMPLETELY COOLED flour/ milk concoction, i beat it for about 5 minutes with an electric mixture. When you do this, it gets really smooth again. Then i took the SOFTENED butter at room temp and i beat it with the sugar in another bowl. I beat it for about 10 minutes. It is important to beat it till it is REALLY FLUFFY AND WHITE. When the butter sugar is creamed till it's white and fluffy, then it's ready. Next, I put the butter sugar in the whipped up milk/ flour mixture. I beat for about 5-7 minutes until it is light and fluffy AND BOY.. IT WAS DELICIOUS! The sugar grains dissolved on their own!I put it on my vanilla cupcakes. It tastes like sweetened whipped cream, but BETTER! If you follow directions and HAVE PATIENCE, this will come out right.Most people that screw up probably did not take their time and was rushing it. Or even worse, the butter and sugar was NOT mixed properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah O
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
This is seriously the best frosting ever. My family is super picky about frostings and doesn't care for classic buttercream at all but they go nuts over this frosting. I usually use 1 1/2 cups cream instead of milk and 4 tbsp flour because I find this makes it fluffier (milk still usually works fine, but cream is just a little bit superior). I've made a butterscotch cupcake with this and used brown sugar instead of granulated sugar and it worked amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 399) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States