Creamy Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2015
It was not thick enough and it tasted like to much sugar!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
I don't know what other folks are saying about it being clumpy, soupy, and gooey, but I will NEVER buy a frosting in the store again! Everyone in my family loved this recipe. I halfed my recipe and changed it up a bit after I found another way of doing on youtube. First I put the milk and flour in the pot and began whisking AS SOON as i turned the heat on. I kept stirring quickly and never got any clumps, because i kept WHISKING. I had it on medium- high heat. I let it get thick and let it sit for about an hour. When it's cooled, it looks like a clump, but that's ok. I then put vanilla in the COMPLETELY COOLED flour/ milk concoction, i beat it for about 5 minutes with an electric mixture. When you do this, it gets really smooth again. Then i took the SOFTENED butter at room temp and i beat it with the sugar in another bowl. I beat it for about 10 minutes. It is important to beat it till it is REALLY FLUFFY AND WHITE. When the butter sugar is creamed till it's white and fluffy, then it's ready. Next, I put the butter sugar in the whipped up milk/ flour mixture. I beat for about 5-7 minutes until it is light and fluffy AND BOY.. IT WAS DELICIOUS! The sugar grains dissolved on their own!I put it on my vanilla cupcakes. It tastes like sweetened whipped cream, but BETTER! If you follow directions and HAVE PATIENCE, this will come out right.Most people that screw up probably did not take their time and was rushing it. Or even worse, the butter and sugar was NOT mixed properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah O
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
This is seriously the best frosting ever. My family is super picky about frostings and doesn't care for classic buttercream at all but they go nuts over this frosting. I usually use 1 1/2 cups cream instead of milk and 4 tbsp flour because I find this makes it fluffier (milk still usually works fine, but cream is just a little bit superior). I've made a butterscotch cupcake with this and used brown sugar instead of granulated sugar and it worked amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
Perfect! I used a gluten-free all purpose flour (XO Baking Co. brand for convenience, but you can also make your own). It came out very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Tried this recipe and the result was delightful. Just signed up to all recipes and I can't wait fpr ore recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Needed frosting but had no powdered sugar. This was a pleasant substitute. I used coffee liqueur ( kahlua) as we had no vanilla either :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhymeswith16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Love this recipie not too sweet. Tip to avoid those pesky lumps is stir the thickened milk periodically as it cools. And it helps the milk cool faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
It came out lumpy and soupy, I even tried adding cornstarch to make it thicker--didn't help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
This is lovely frosting! light and creamy, i mixed it by hand and still came out perfect! i would just say made sure everything has cooled down to room temp before mixing together, and whisk continuously the flour and milk while its thickening. Also mix sugar and butter very well, as much as you can! then whip them both up its perfect. If you refrigerate it for half an hour or more it hardens and easier to pipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Aguirre Burton

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
It wouldn't mix together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zaida Jenkins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 392) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States