Creamy Dreamy Chicken and Spirals Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
I don't understand all the bad reviews. My 5yo daughter loved this dinner. I made it with 2 cups of rotini and used chicken broth instead of wine. The entire family and dinner guests thoroughly enjoyed the meal. We served it with crusty buttered bread to soak the sauce up with and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2001
Sauce was too rich - too cheesy with definite wine taste!! It overwhelmed the chicken and pasta, instead of accenting it. I would have preferred macaroni & cheese to this for less cost and better flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I tried to stay true to the recipe but sub what I had on hand to keep the food budget down. I browned raw cubed chicken breast in a little evoo/butter before proceeding with the recipe. I didn't use as much butter/flour as called for, just a teaspoon of each that I cooked to a light brown before adding the milk, cream cheese, milk and wine. The cream cheese I used was Philadelphia's cooking cream, which made it SO much easier to work with. I used French's chardonnay dijon mustard, omitted the extra salt and I added a teaspoon each of garlic and onion powder and couple good shakes of Frank's Hot Sauce. The cheddar cheese I used was extra sharp. The flavor of this casserole was out of this world BUT our issue with it was it was REALLY thick. REALLY thick. And kind of gummy. I think this would be excellent if it had a little more milk, maybe about a half cup or so. Then it might be perfect. My kids absolutely loved it, thickness aside. I'll make this again. I served steamed broccoli on the side but next time, I might just stir it in. I think it would be a great all-in-one casserole dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
I first made this using the original recipe and it was ok. The second time I made it I left out the nutmeg, used Honey Mustard instead of Dijon and used 2 Tblsp. of white wine and 2 of chicken broth. Also cooked chicken chunks in butter, seasoned with salt and pepper. Used the left over broth to simmer chicken in once it was browned. Also added a little minced onion and was very generous with the rotini. Family loved it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2001
We have updated this recipe to include 2 cups uncooked rotini pasta in the ingredient list. - The Staff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This was delicious! I added 1/2tsp of fresh ground black pepper a package of frozen mixed vegetables and doubled the pasta. It was a lot of work but this is a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2002
I did not care for this casserole myself, if you like homemade macaroni and cheese this is the casserole for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2001
This didn't turn out very well for me and I'm not quite sure why. It seemed kinda pasty or something... perhaps too much flour? It was too rich and heavy, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I thought this casserole was rich and delicious. I served this up for a Sunday dinner, adding mushrooms and broccoli florets to the casserole to round it out. The cheese sauce was comforting but was different than normal due in part to the wine. I used penne pasta, and would recommend a tube pasta with ridges to hold and soak in the cheese sauce. This doubled easily and the leftovers were just as tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2001
I noticed when making this recipe the rotini seemed like a very small amount but made it as specified anyway. My boyfriend and I still liked it very much. I noted before adding this review that it should have been more rotini after all! I would make it again but leave out the wine and mustard and possibly even use more pasta than the 2 cups uncooked specified. Very rich tasting cheese sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Santini

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States