Creamy Divinity Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mrs. CJR
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Lesson learned on this one - Believe the other reviews and don't try the recipe as it is hoping it will turn out okay. Doctored it up as much as possible to try to make it work so that I didn't waste the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. CJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winterport, Maine, USA
Living In: Live Oak, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I JUST MADE THIS DIVINITY AND IT TURNED OUT PERFCT.I USED THE 1/4 CUP OF WATER AND 3 CUP POWDERED SUGAR.USED MY HAND MIXER AND IT WORKED FINE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This recipe is also on the back of the Betty Crocker Frosting box and it says to bake for 5 minutes at 325. I made 2 batches and the batch that I baked turned out much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Very leary after reading the reviews but it turned out great and I used the water it called for and about 2½ cups of powdered sugar. I never measured it I used it as it was needed so I just poured until I felt it was right. But the recipe was on the frosting box. It was Betty Crocker and it said after dropping it on the cookie sheets one needs to bake it at 325°for 5 minutes. I did this and it set the candy up immediately. For one that has never been able to make divinity no matter what I tried I was estatic with glee that I finally made divinity that I did not have run all over the place....I will definitly use this recipe again and the neighbors were thrilled too! Merry Christmas with five star joy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I should have read the reviews. My didn't work either. 10 mins of mixing and all I have is a big bowl of frosting. I used a generic frosting - I'll try again with BC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
DON'T DO IT!! First, I made a batch with the original recipe. A flop! Runny syrup. Waste of ingred. Then I followed the user's suggestions using 1/4 c. boiling water. This stuff was so stiff the mixer could barely handle it. Light and fluffy, I think not. How about concrete frosting?! I can't believe I wasted a hard-earned vacation day for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
pretty good, was surprised at how well it turned out. very sweet...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
this recipe might make an excellent fuge recipe--i will know shortly. after trying this recipe i figure there is something that the submitor did tell divulge or that person forgot about. this turned out to be the worst recipe ever and i KNOW that i followed that persons directions to the letter--although the title does it justice that may be the ONLY thing that is correct it is definitely CREAMY, creamy what i have no idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
Like other suggested I reduced my water to 1/4 cup. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I also used the BC frosting mix. It turned out excellent. I was scared after reading previous ratings about it not whipping to form a stiff peak. I used my Kitchen Aide mixer and it whipped up in about 5 minutes. This one is a keeper for my family...My mom loves divinity!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzie Joe Jacobs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States