Creamy Dill Cucumber Toasties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2005
First,definitely use toasted slices of cocktail bread-rye or pumpernickel.2nd, don't use mayo,it just doesn't go well with the cream cheese.I suggest sour cream. 3rd, add the dry dressing mix a little at a time, and taste...until it's to your liking. Using a whole packet is way too much! Half would be better. Dry or fresh dill, either works well. I'll make this again with the above changes. The recipe, as is, is just much too strong and salty and greasy, and the bread does nothing for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
606 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blythewood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
THANK YOU!!! This recipe was a huge hit at my family reunion, and was SO easy! I used plain Melba Rounds, and splurged on a seedless English Cucumber. It sliced very thinly, which is key in this recipe. I used fresh dill on top; tiny sprigs arranged to look like seagrass. A faint brushing of paprika added the final color. My relatives thought I had been to culinary school! Chilled on a crisp white platter, these make a great addition to any party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
328 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
Amazes me that this recipe got even one bad review. It's awesome! I used triscuits. Also took a reviewer's advice and used seedless cucumber. Used Good Season's italian dressing mix - the normal kind. Used about 1/2 of it - kept tasting until I was satisfied. Sliced the cucumber very thin. Sprinkled fresh dill on top, didn't use any dried. Used the amount of mayo recommended in the recipe, otherwise I think the mixture would have been way too thick. Mixed the spread the night before - I recommend this, the flavors were even better the next day. My guests loved these and so did I! They will be a party standard from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
272 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
Rewrite of Review - I used fresh dill and thinly sliced english cucumber for garnish. Doubled the batch and took to a wine/fondue gathering (spring 2007). Was VERY WELL RECEIVED, except the crackers ended up getting soggy before the end of the night. They were all eaten though, soggy cracker or not. Next time I'll serve separately using a decorative bowl with a butter knife so people can spread on the crackers or bread themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 79SHALE97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2002
I took this to a potluck, set it down, and came back a few minutes later to a table of people with guilty expressions! This was a welcome change to the usual chip-and-dip fare, and especially nice for summer. I used sprigs of fresh dill on top rather than dried - which makes them look as good as they taste. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUBEENE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2002
This is a very yummy recipe. I used less of the italian seasoning, about half per cube of cream cheese. I think it tastes better that way--not as strong. I also added the dill into the mixture and topped with fresh dill for a pretty presentation. I used the baguettes slices. Everyone enjoyed. I also had them with Toasteds wheat crackers and liked them even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Pretty, refreshing, delicious and simple to make. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
This recipe was wonderful! I made these for a bridal shower and everyone loved them! No one believed me when I told them what the ingredients were because this recipe was so EASY!!! I used fresh dill instead of the dried and mixed 1 tbsp. in with the cream cheese mixture in addition to the dill I sprinkled on top. I got tons of requests for this recipe and the bride has requested it to put in her Newlywed recipe file. Thanks for such an awesome recipe, Dianne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHCMEOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2002
I had to travel (via public transporation) to a potluck, so I made the creamy spread, and brought the sliced cucumbers and melba toast separately. You know how you dont want to eat too much of what you brought, so that others can eat it? I couldnt stop eating this and felt horribly guilty the whole time!!!! It was great with the melba toast, and all of these were gone. I may try to use this recipe with finger sandwiches. THANKS!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
These are great!! Easy to put together and gives that fresh summer taste. I've used this recipe over and over again ... everyone loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 647) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Dill Cucumber Toasties

This simple, creamy appetizer takes its cue from English tea sandwiches.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Cucumber Sandwiches I

Yummy little party sandwiches with cocktail rye bread and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States