Creamy Dill Cucumber Toasties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Surprisingly, I loved this. Followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect. This will be a new staple for parties at my house and when visiting others. **Edit- Made this for a family function and everyone loved it. My SIL said that this needs to be put on the menu each time we get together. Edit again: this gets requested from family and friends whenever I go visiting and ask "what can I bring?" I do use less than a whole package of seasoning so that it doesn't get overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
These are perfect for summer! We call them cucumber snackies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scarlettjulie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I just had this at a party on dark cocktail bread. It is good. I made it according to this recipe and it was just the same flavor. My opinion is if you change the bread or toast rate the recipe according to the ingridents. So I rated this a five. I will use it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Delicious and a great twist on traditional cucumber sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Nora loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Went over great! A few touches that were a succes: 1) Only use 1/2 packet of italian dressing mix 2) Add 2 tsp dill weed to the cream cheese mixture AND sprinkle some on top 3) Let the cream cheese mixture sit for at least a couple of hours to let the flavors mix 4) Slice the cucumber very thin and then slit 1/2 the diameter. That way you can twist the slices to make a pretty presentation. (I used 1.5 cucumbers total.) 5) Slice the baguette into 1/4" slices. (I didn't toast and I'm glad with how the final product tunrned out.) I used a mini French baguette which was nice. I also used Neufchatel cheese and reduced fat mayo which worked great -- no one missed the extra fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
This sounds wonderful but, as a novice cook, I must ask -- why are they called "toasties"? Are you supposed to toast the bread slices, and if so, how?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I have been using this same recipe for years. I use garden cukes and prefer not to peal. We also like to cut our cukes alittle thicker to taste the cuke. Always use cocktail bread, but will try the baquette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
this recipe is called 'toasties', but nothing in the directions suggested the bread should be toasted. Did i miss something? I ended up placing the sliced bread under the broiler for a few minutes then proceeding with the spread and topping. Everyone commented on how delicious they were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
This is excellent. Great job to the submitting party.. Love them..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 653) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Dill Cucumber Toasties

This simple, creamy appetizer takes its cue from English tea sandwiches.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Cucumber Sandwiches I

Yummy little party sandwiches with cocktail rye bread and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States