Creamy Dill Cucumber Toasties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This was a big hit at my party. My husband normally dislikes cucumbers and he LoVED this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
These were a hit at a Labor Day block party! The platter was empty long before the BBQ was fired up. After reading previous reviews and experimenting, this is what I recommend: 1) Use all of dressing mix in the cream cheese and make it the day before. 2) Use fresh dill, not dried. 3) Add 1 Tbsp fresh dill to the cream cheese mixture. 4) Slice mini French baguette 1/4" and toast lightly under broiler. 5) Use potato peeler on English cuke for curly, thin slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Surprisingly, I loved this. Followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect. This will be a new staple for parties at my house and when visiting others. **Edit- Made this for a family function and everyone loved it. My SIL said that this needs to be put on the menu each time we get together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
These are perfect for summer! We call them cucumber snackies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scarlettjulie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I just had this at a party on dark cocktail bread. It is good. I made it according to this recipe and it was just the same flavor. My opinion is if you change the bread or toast rate the recipe according to the ingridents. So I rated this a five. I will use it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Delicious and a great twist on traditional cucumber sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Nora loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Went over great! A few touches that were a succes: 1) Only use 1/2 packet of italian dressing mix 2) Add 2 tsp dill weed to the cream cheese mixture AND sprinkle some on top 3) Let the cream cheese mixture sit for at least a couple of hours to let the flavors mix 4) Slice the cucumber very thin and then slit 1/2 the diameter. That way you can twist the slices to make a pretty presentation. (I used 1.5 cucumbers total.) 5) Slice the baguette into 1/4" slices. (I didn't toast and I'm glad with how the final product tunrned out.) I used a mini French baguette which was nice. I also used Neufchatel cheese and reduced fat mayo which worked great -- no one missed the extra fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
This sounds wonderful but, as a novice cook, I must ask -- why are they called "toasties"? Are you supposed to toast the bread slices, and if so, how?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I have been using this same recipe for years. I use garden cukes and prefer not to peal. We also like to cut our cukes alittle thicker to taste the cuke. Always use cocktail bread, but will try the baquette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 645) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Dill Cucumber Toasties

This simple, creamy appetizer takes its cue from English tea sandwiches.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Cucumber Sandwiches I

Yummy little party sandwiches with cocktail rye bread and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States