Creamy Curried Shrimp with Grilled Pineapple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Sautéed on high onion and bell pepper cooked shrimp in that reduced till all liquid is gone. Made curry separate and added it to shrimp last. Served over rice cooked with some of the coconut milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
My husband found this recipe and was excited to try and make dinner for us. We skipped grilling the pineapple but it wouldn't have mattered... The curry sauce for this was way too think and very very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
Very bland. My husband and I were dissapointed. I was expecting more of a curry flavor. I even used 2 tsp of curry powder. I followed other's suggestions. I used 4 tblsp of butter and 2 tblsp of flour and it turned out well. Not too thick. Maybe it could have used some toasted nuts, golden rasins and a little hot sauce. I'll never know. I won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
Very good. I, too, used cornstarch (2 Tbls.) with 3/4 of the milk (of each type) called for. The "sauce" was still very thick. It didn't look very attractive globbing onto the shrimp, but tasted wonderful. Be sure you remove the tails from your shrimp, if you are serving the sauce on the shrimp. I didn't and had to remove them later. Wouldn't want to bite into a tail under all of that good sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
My husband absolutely loved this recipe. I thought the thick texture of the curry sauce was a little dense for the shrimp, but the flavor was nice. Overall I liked the flavors and will try and do this with maybe some sort of curry glaze rather than a heavy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELFINDANCER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
Very good taste, easy prep. The pineapple/coconut mix is an excellent combination of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2001
I actually tried this sauce with grilled chicken. I was looking for a curry sauce that was quick and not a million steps. That it was, but I found it thick and bland. I added garlic, ginger and crushed red peppers and that helped. I would agree that I wouldn't add as much butter and flour next time to make it less thick. I would try this recipe again as I think the base of it is good for a simple curry sauce.. Maybe with the shrimp it has a much better affect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2001
I made this to take to a Memorial Day party. The plate was empty in no time. Although I had my reservations about how it turned out, I got nothing but compliments. It makes a lot of curry sauce, next time I would probably use 2+ lbs of shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2001
I'll admit I tinker with recipes quite a bit and did so with this as well. I used jumbo raw shrimp and grilled it after marinating it in a tropical-style marinade. I grilled thick slices of pineapple which worked out well. Instead of coating the shrimp with the sauce I thought I'd use it as a dipping sauce. When warm it was a great consistency, but after being chilled it was just a little too thick and the butter did try and seperate out. Instead of using curry powder, I used 1 tsp of red curry paste and that worked well. Next time I would probably reduce the butter and flour down to 2 T butter and 1 T flour in order thicken it less vs. the stick of butter and 1/4 cup of flour that the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Shrimp with Lemon Aioli

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy, very flavorful grilled shrimp.

Marinated Grilled Shrimp

Grilling marinated shrimp makes a fast, flavorful main dish.

Grilled Marinated Shrimp

The tangy marinade makes the shrimp moist and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States