Creamy Cucumber Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I can't believe how many negative comments there are. It's a lovely light summer dressing you could use in many ways. I poured it over sliced cucumbers, tomatoes and onion for a cucumber salad. Very nice. I did thicken with 50/50 yogurt/sour cream. I calculated the calories and it's only 54 per tablespoon using fat free yogurt and fat free sour cream. Lite flavor and lite in calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
too runny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
This was perfect what what I needed. I used Greek yogurt and Enlish cucumbers. The texture was good for the chicken and veggie pita snadwiches we made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I honestly don't get why so many ppl are complaining about it being too runny and watery, as though it's such a disastrous thing. Yes, it's thin, but the recipe submitter never claimed it would be thick. Just because it's white, it doesn't mean it's supposed to be thick like a ranch dressing! I let mine sit overnight in the fridge and it thickened up a bit, but that really didn't bother me at all either way. The flavors really blend and are much stronger the next day. It's very garlicky the longer it sits, so next time I'll use half a clove of garlic. I'll also cut back a bit on the white pepper since it's quite strong. Or I might just use cracked black pepper. Otherwise, it's a keeper! I love that there's no oil in it, so it's super healthy. I used fat free greek yogurt too. A nice change from the typical vinegar and oil-based dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Reason why it may be runny is that the cuccumber must be squeezed to get all the moisture out. It's an old trick. This is truly delicious and you can use as much garlic as you choose. You can also use jarred garlic. And sometines I eliminate the lemon. Don't forget to add powdered mint. Just rub the dried mint leaves between both palms and that will give you that fine powdered little addition to your creamy cuccumber dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
The directions should have included to remove seeds from cucumbers and to sweat them. Something was missing even after I added more spices. Maybe a lil sugar would help. I would also use half yogurt and half sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
The only reason this is 4 instead of 5 stars is that it is a bit too runny. I made this tonight and it is AMAZING! I had to leave out the white pepper because I don't have any, but the flavor was fantastic anyway. I also used greek yogurt instead of the more traditional yogurt, which may be why mine was less bland than some of the previous reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
A local restaurant serves a cucumber dressing that I love so I thought I'd give this a try. Definitely seed the cucumber. I found this recipe lacky something also as some of the other reviewers did. I think it needs more salt and I don't know what else. I will make it again and play with it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Bertalotto

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rolla, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
I find this recipe a little bland as is. To make it really good, I add a tablespoon of fresh grated onion (pref. yellow or white), a heaping tablespoon of mayonnaise (helps to thicken it if you find it too thin, plus makes it less yogurty tasting), and about a tablespoon of dried dill. Sesame seeds can be added for a little texture too -- works well as a dressing for falafel or a veggie wrap. Note: the white pepper is key to this recipe. I only use a dash of it because it is strong, but no other pepper will give the same taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Here's what I did to avoid the runny problem. I pureed the cucumber and drained it through a small strainer. I used the liquid part to make cucumber lemonade and used the pulp to make this dressing. I added dill as well and it worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Dill Cucumber Toasties

This simple, creamy appetizer takes its cue from English tea sandwiches.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Ranch Dressing II

This dressing is tangy with flavors of herbs. Mmm!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States