Creamy Corn With Cumin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
This soup has a great blend of flavors, although it only makes about 4 bowls. Next time I will use a two pound bag of corn and cut the half and half back to a cup. It doesn't need all that cream or the calories. Also, you must strain the soup. It makes a big difference in the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wenatchee, Washington, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
Great flavored soup but I gave up on straining it because I think the holes were too small in my mesh strainer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Yum! Don`t bother straining, just blend well. No need for the sugar. And the tomatoes are a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
Delicious soup! I definately prefer it not strained, it depends on your liking to the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernie, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
excellent soup! i used a lot of extra seasonings and a little more milk than called for, with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lewisac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I omitted the onions (since my husband doesn't eat them). I used whole milk instead of half and half. This recipe turned out wonderfully. I blended it in a blender but did not strain it. I prefered the chunkier texture. Next time I will add more broth to make it a little thinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Great as a starter but it's not something you would enjoy if you had more than one serving. I would not make again but thanks for sharing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
BEST MEXICAN CORN SOUP EVER! I used Chipotle Chile ground for the spice and upped it to about 1 tsp (or maybe more- we like it hot here in Santa Fe. I also upped the garlic. I also changed the 1/2 & 1/2 to Soy 1/2 & 1/2 which tasted great with a lot less fat content. I did not strain - it is fine with the little bit of roughage in the soup - gives it more body.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This was a very good soup. I loved the combination of the creamy corn with cumin! I made 4x the soup. I used cans - and 1/2 the cans were regular corn and 1/2 were creamed corn. Next time I will only use creamed corn, and then after I puree the whole thing, I will add one can of regular corn - just so that some whole kernels will stay intact and make it look nice. I did not use half and half. After I pureed the soup with my hand blender, I did not strain it - too much work. I am sure it would have a very nice texture that way though - but I didn't have time to do that. At first I did not like the corn skins that made the soup very course and not smooth, but then I got used ti it - I really like this soup now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Easy, cheap, healthy!!!!! AWESOME. I also added carrots and potatoes! Thank you for the submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States