Creamy Corn Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
Great base recipe! Instead of fresh parsley I used a tablespoon of italian seasoning. I also used 2% milk, whipped lite cream cheese, but then at the very end added about 4 oz of shredded jack and cheddar cheeses to thicken it up! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
Very nice soup...I used whole milk and while you can tell it isn't cream if you put enough flavors in it isn't bad. I also used dried paresley instead of fresh (can't stand the taste of fresh unfortunately).Used frozen white corn instead of canned to cut down on sodium and added my own salt to the mixture. At the end added some cheddar (mild) and melted through because the milkiness alone was not enough flavor for me. I think tabasco, worchestershire, or Old Bay would be nice additions as well. Almost a 5 but not one of the best I've had. EXTREMELY EASY... and anything I don't want to puree is tops with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melpy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
I really enjoyed this soup. Next time I will follow the advice of someone else and melt the cream cheese before adding it. It was difficult to get it fully incorporated. This soup has a lot of options. It would be great with crab, bacon, cheese, or just about anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Darby, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Edgewood, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
This recipe was not very clear. The corn did not specify whether it was to be drained or not. (I assumed it was.) Also, I assume the soup is intended to thicken some - I'm assuming that's what the flour is for. However, I wasn't sure WHEN it was supposed to be permitted to thicken - before or after adding the corn and cream cheese. We weren't crazy about the finished soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dinwiddie, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
This was okay. I consider it more of a base recipe to work from. It needs more seasoning and stuff added to it. I added diced potatoes, carrots and tarragon. The additions helped, but it still needs something else. My 2 recommendations when making this soup are to make sure the onions are finely diced and make a sure that you have a good roux, otherwise the soup is really thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Galloway Township, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sharon Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
Very good soup! I used a sweet onion, unsalted butter, 1% milk, and low-sodium broth. I added about a cup more broth than called for (and it made just enough for 3 adults and 2 kids as the main course of dinner). I also used Neufchatel cheese, and was afraid it wouldn't work, but it did. It was actually very thin until I added the cheese, and I was worried. At first, the cheese broke up into little chunks, but I wisked it really well and it worked fine. I don't use canned corn so I used 3 cups frozen (a mix of white and yellow). I used garlic powder and just a sprinkle of the garlic salt. Served with crackers and a nice green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
I had to stretch this recipe when I learned we would have extra dinner guests. So, I doubled the cream cheese, added 2 cans of cream style corn and a package of polish sausage, diced. It was delicious. I served it with a revised version of this site's "Savory Sausage, Cheese and Oat Muffins" since I thought a corn muffin would be redundant. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHURMAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zapata, Texas, USA
Living In: Denison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2005
Wow, maybe I did something wrong, but this had a really strong garlic taste! My whole house smelled like garlic for the rest of the day. But good thing I love garlic! I added 4 small chopped red potatoes with the corn and cream cheese, brought to a boil, and then covered and simmered for 20 minutes. This softened the potatoes and melted the cream cheese. But remember to stir often or the roux will thicken on the bottom! I also used dried parsley and omitted the cayenne pepper. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
This is delicious. I pureed half of the corn to make it creamier. I recommend melting the cream cheese a little first so that it melts into the soup easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARL20

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
Great taste, almost exactly like my mom's Crema de Elote! I don't remember any onion chunks in my mom's though. Not a problem for the taste, but as we got to the bottom of the pan the chunks were unbearable to some in the fam... (also, if you didn't try this with ritz-type crackers, you must!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ciudad De México, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States