Creamy Corn Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This is definitely a keeper ... with a couple changes to my taste! I added a little chili paste to pep it up some ... and I used frozen corn since I really don't care for the taste of canned corn. I also pureed the soup and then added an additional cup of corn so that it would have whole kernels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHINYHAPPYRAYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bedburg, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Very simple to make...I used water in place of chicken broth to reduce the salt content and it still turned out amazing. I also pre-boiled the 2.5 cups of milk which allowed it to have a more creamy consistency...last tip, I boiled it all together, and then took all but .5 cup of it and blended it up... oh by the way, I didn't put any cream cheese and it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
This was good, but it needed more thickening. I also didn't care for the garlic in this. I do like the idea of the green chili pepper though. I think that it would have given it a little zip that it needed. Perhaps even some shredded cheese would have been good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
I made this as directed, with one exception...I used an immersion blender to purée it at the end. Served with a selection of "toppings" to choose from....cheddar cheese, green chiles, crumbled bacon, hot sauce...it was really good with these additions. It's an excellent base but a bit blah when eaten plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MollyBrook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Good recipe but it lacks a VERY important ingredient. SOY SAUCE! when my family tasted it without the soy sauce they all gave me death looks!! After I suggested adding soy sauce, everyone was fighting over the very last drop. Great recipe but you HAVE to add some soy sauce at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I was pleasantly surprised with this soup. I wasn't too sure about the cream cheese, having never put cream cheese in a soup before, but in the end, it turned out fabulous! My husband even wanted seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Wonderful recipe! My kids loved it. I added a little more onion and gralic as well as toasted bacon bits to sprikle in the middle and add some crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I enjoy that this recipe doesn't rely on canned soups or canned creamed corn, instead it uses a roux, milk and cream cheese for its creamy base. After making as directed (but using frozen corn for the canned), I found the soup still needed a pop of flavor... So taking the submitter's suggestion, I added some chopped jalapeno I had stashed in the freezer. A good basis for a creamy corn soup which could stand up to many other additions / flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Good but I have made better corn soup/chowders. It needs a kick of something to make it wow. Thanks though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I thought this tasted okay. I was looking for a corn soup or chowder to use some corn I had just cut off some cobs. I did use no sodium broth and fresh corn instead of canned. I am glad I did because, with the added garlic salt, this would have been way too salty. I ended up using corn from 4 cobs for the 2 12oz cans. I subbed 1 Tblsp. of dry parsley for the parsley and it worked fine and just did a pinch or so of black pepper, as I don't really care for it. I tasted it and thought it was missing something and a little too thin. I ended up adding a Tblsp. more of flour, and whisking that in, and chopping up a couple of sprigs of green onion and adding that also. It much improved the taste and texture. I had no bacon like a lot of the other corn soups and chowders tend to use as garnish, etc. but we did sprinkle it with a cheese blend. It was filling tonight and quick for what I had in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States