Creamy Corn Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I made a few modifications: used whole kernal corn, drained, because I didn't have any cream style on hand. Also used the Roasted Garlic and Olive oil couscous so I didn't add any additional salt. The family ate it up, and asked for more, so next time I'll double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
This side dish is awesome. I may have added a little more cheese, you can never have too much cheese, but other than that I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
i love all of the ingredients separately, it was fast and easy to make, but i was not a fan of the texture--reminded me of elastic, undercooked cream of wheat. it also doesn't look entirely appetizing. i can see why people might like it for comfort food if the texture doesn't bother them, but i would not suggest using it for entertaining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
This really lives up to the name! The only thing I'm NOT crazy about is the instruction for cooking the couscous. I knew that it needed some more flavour - so I added 1/2 tsp dried thyme, and 1/4 tsp garlic powder. I will definately use this recipe again, but plan on adding some roasted red bell pepper for a pop of colour. I used a ring mold for the presentation. This is restaurant worthy w/ the right seasonings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Followed directions, but it tasted bland to us. Might make again but would add a lot more ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Superb! I have never had couscous before but saw this recipe and thought why not give it a try? I did and it is wonderful and oh so easy to make...so much so my non-cooking daughter now makes it as her specialty. When my finicky children eat something strange and then ask for more, it has to be good. Give it a try. I don't think you or your family will be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I thought this was okay, but the kids hated it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
My husband and I loved this. My kids had a hard time with the texture, but I love the texture of couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chriss Menna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
This was my first try for couscous, so maybe not a fair review, but I thought it would be alot better than it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Originally when I read this recipe along with the reviews I was super excited to give it a try. All the ingredients in this recipe, I love on their own. After following the recipe I was left with a gluey mass that ruined the light fluffy nature of the couscous. The flavors were bland and tasted like nothing more than a diluted version of cream corn. The color was yellow, just yellow.... I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States